We Live our lives…

“We live our lives of human passions,

cruelties, dreams, concepts,

crimes and the exercise of virtue

in and beside a world devoid

of our preoccupations, free

from apprehension—though affected,

certainly, by our actions. A world

parallel to our own though overlapping.

We call it “Nature”; only reluctantly

admitting ourselves to be “Nature” too.

Whenever we lose track of our own obsessions,

our self-concerns, because we drift for a minute,

an hour even, of pure (almost pure)

response to that insouciant life:

cloud, bird, fox, the flow of light, the dancing

pilgrimage of water, vast stillness

of spellbound ephemerae on a lit windowpane,

animal voices, mineral hum, wind

conversing with rain, ocean with rock, stuttering

of fire to coal—then something tethered

in us, hobbled like a donkey on its patch

of gnawed grass and thistles, breaks free.

No one discovers

just where we’ve been, when we’re caught up again

into our own sphere (where we must

return, indeed, to evolve our destinies)

—but we have changed, a little.”

— Denise Levertov, “Sojourns in the Parallel World” (via litverve)

(via christinasanantonio)

DSC_2721
After the photography exhibition reception on Sunday September 29, 2013 , there was and still is a sense of unfinishedness. I am not sure why? When I think about the experience even while present there seems to have been a disconnect, the energy did not blend, if that makes sense?
 A few days before I was feeling apprehensive or had a sense of expectation of this exhibition. How or why does make sense to me at this moment, yet the how or why I believe is causing the feeling for closure. How that comes about I am not sure either? That is why I am here now, to shine light on the “feeling” .
DSC_3851
It all maybe the need for contact with other people, like-minded people. The ego may just be playing with me dancing in and out of the shadows so as not to have to really explain itself. I was an artist among artist, my photography is not the best in the exhibit nor the worst. They are not new prints but prints that have been exhibited in several different places in the past year or so. Yet I feel they are some of my best, simple, elegant, creative. I think when you have a room full of artist all seeking some type of praise for their work it maybe difficult to see your own light.  There, there it is! Ego dancing, taunting. “Over here, over here! See me, see my beautiful photos, see me!”  Sharing an exhibition with 21 other photographers, each having at least 4 pieces exhibited scattered about two floors of gallery is an awesome experience. No one shines above another, there are no solo performances here.  Some where exhibiting for the first time, some had exhibited for years.
I am grateful each and every time I have the opportunity to exhibit, to share these photos with the world me. That is the purpose of photography for me, it was and is the call I answers. So I have to move out of my own way. Allow the pictures to speak for themselves, allow the gift of photography to share natures beauty that I have been honored to witness on a regular basis.
It is those moments as the prose above speaks;Whenever we lose track of our own obsessions,our self-concerns, because we drift for a minute,

an hour even, of pure (almost pure)

response to that insouciant life:

cloud, bird, fox, the flow of light, the dancing

pilgrimage of water, vast stillness

of spellbound ephemerae on a lit windowpane,

DSC_2544

It is in that time of presence that natures speaks, the beauty is shared and expressed. It is the humanness that ask why, or how, that feels the disconnect. Let nature speak, let beauty be.

All photography can be found here: http://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffstroud
12 thoughts on “We Live our lives…”

  1. Such lovely images, Jeff! I’m not a photographer, but I know the feeling you describe–the disconnect, the not-blending. Don’t know where that restlessness comes from. I feel it often. Maybe that emotion drives our art–the desire to resolve that disconnect. Who knows? Thanks for sharing this morning, my friend. Great to hear from you!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. This is beautiful, Jeff, more of your honest light shining through. It’s odd to know what the hidden message can be in those moments of disconnect. Sometimes it feels like I must just sit through them, be present with them. At other times it feels like Spirit is prodding me to see something. Yesterday, I sat with a 92 year old friend and it was beautiful in so many ways. Yet that feeling of disconnect reverberated beneath the surface. It just felt necessary to be with it, to feel whatever pain was coming up. Who knows if it was hers or mine? Thanks for sharing your thoughts here and encouraging us to think and feel about this.

    1. Kathy,

      Thank you for being a reflection of what I wrote and was experiencing ! I am most grateful. Sometimes I think so much honesty is not very comfortable for people to read about, in fact I know it is not but this blog is my voice…

      1. Are YOU comfortable when you’re writing honestly like this? Or do you sometimes experience shame, guilt, etc.when sharing so truly with others?

  3. I had to sit with this for a while because I am in my own place of being unfinished and your piece brought up a whole bunch of my own stuff. Exhibiting your photos again reminds me of revisiting my own work (finished or otherwise) and why it still sits on my computer unpublished. I rarely “exhibit” anything for publication. Sometimes, I go back and read my stuff and think “who wrote that?”

    1. Barbara,

      I thought I had responded to your comments before ! So sorry!

      Exhibiting older photos gives them a new life really. It offers a new space to see them from and new viewer ship. It is just a challenge for me, I want to publish new work, yet finances kept that from happening !

      So go re-read you work, and pick up the stream of consciousness to finish them in one form or another!

      Thank you!
      Jeff

  4. I love the words “mineral hum” in the poem – I’m going to share them with my geologist sister.

    Having pieces exhibited scattered about two floors makes me wonder – do collectors recognize a photographer’s unique work, even if it is displayed with a bunch of others’ work? Is there a Jeff Stroud style? I think there must be and I wonder if I would pick up on it at an exhibit…

    1. Barbara,

      “Mineral hum” reminded me of the film “What’s up Doc” where the boyfriend was a geologist with his tuning fork listening to the sounds each rock made.
      In Shamanic Divination there is a practice of reading a found rock by the client, to feel the vibrations, energy said stone give off.

      I am sure that I has a “style” yet I keep trying to break out of it. so the work gets scattered about because the genre changes… sometimes.

      There are times I view other peoples nature photos and swear it is mine! LOL Or wishing I had taken it.

      Thank you for visit !

      Jeff

Leave a Reply

