The poetry of Fog

The fog is an illusion—
A master of disguise,
Which hides the tangible
Before our very eyes.

But when the fog has lifted
Everything’s still there,
And the tangible
Only seemed to’ve disappeared.

In the early morning
Or late at night,
The fog descends
Upon various sites.

It gives an air of mystery
That has long prevailed.
Dangerously intriguing
Is the fog’s foggy veil.

© W.S.2009

Walterrean Salley

The Dense Fog

I see not what others see
The fog is used to blind me
That fog of routine that is of life
Unable to see what is near
It is near impossible to hear
Only the little light makes it through
That light is what I see
The possibility of unhindered vision
But that is only for a moment
For tomorrow the fog will roll back
And that is how all life is
For my generation and yours
This fog is here to stay

Stephen Mueller

 
22 thoughts on “The poetry of Fog”

  1. Gosh, Jefff, these photos are stunning. I especially love the first one–and notion of fog as poetry. I had never considered that, but that’s exactly what it is! Hope you have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. Kathy,

      Life is poetry and poetry is life, in a way, if we get out of the way. LOL! Thank you! I could not pass up the opportunity this morning!
      Have a great weekend as well!

    1. Barbara,

      The fog has fascinated me for some time. Here in suburbia it is not always so “haunting” or fascinating yet I took the chance that something would present itself. and for you it did.
      Thank you so much!

  2. Your fog photos are wonderful, Jeff. Just beautiful…but I’m not surprised. You and your camera are magicians. I was thinking about the fog of our personalities and egos…how it covers up who we really are. Hope you enjoy your weekend, friend.

    1. Hey Kathy,

      Thank you so much! Yes I got the sense of our personalities & ego’s from within the poems that I came across, yet I had not really thought of it that way.
      So far the weekend has been great! Enjoy yours as well!

    1. Barbara,

      I thought I responded to your comments, so sorry! Thank you so much, yes enchanting and mysterious. There are some new ones on my facebook page.

Leave a Reply

