exercising your power of choice.

“… through exercising your power of choice judiciously, you can learn to see how you and your actions can work in harmony with the world around you. You may experience the grace of living in harmony with the universe only a handful of times, but the experience is characterized by a feeling of trust and a rapport with your surroundings.” Carolyn Myss

The power of choice

I read the above quote after having read the Fourth Step process in Alcoholics Anonymous: The process of taking an inventory of our lives, seeking the places we find resentment, anger, selfish behavior… and fear. These choices of fear selfish behavior, anger and resentments do not allow us/me to experience the grace of being in harmony with the universe, those choices do not create trust and or rapport with my surroundings, they do just the opposite.

Continual Flow

I say this because I find myself more and more in just those moments of choice, to control a situation, to be get angry because someone needs some or is hovering, in an unconscious caring way. I hear myself in those moments, when I am making a sarcastic comment, getting angry of a diver on the road that is going the speed limit, or even the dogs, when it seems to me an inappropriate time to want to take a walk, in those moments I have to breathe, I have to say how important is this to my sanity and my relationship to this situation. Constantly readjusting my attitude, realigning my self with the Higher Power. For each moment is a moment to learn who I am, or who I am not or even no longer wish to be.

Self-centered, resentment, anger, and fear...

There is some really wise words which when used as action to move beyond ourselves, from  Alcoholics Anonymous page 420 which states, “Perhaps the best thing of all for me is to remember that my serenity is inversely proportional to my expectations.” For I have unconscious expectation of how things are suppose to be, I have egoic reason why, a situation, person, place or thing should act accordingly, the wisdom goes on to say, ” The higher my expectations of other people are (and myself), the lower my serenity. I can watch my serenity level rise when I discard my expectations. But when my ‘rights’ (ego) try to move in, and they too can force my serenity down. I have to discard my ‘rights’ (ego) as well as expectations, by asking myself, How important is it, really?  How important is it compared to my serenity, my emotional sobriety? And when I place more value on my serenity and sobriety than on anything else, I can maintain them at a higher level – at least for the time being.”

For at least the time being, for the moment is just that only a moment, yet when anger and resentment have become present the moment lives on in my energy much longer. Yeah but ego says what about my ‘rights’ what about me, in a flash, you are not important, the state of being is, presence of mind, the action of Love is the state of being. Love of self, to be Love of others, Love to others.

I still have to ask, do I think that little of myself to continue to react in such a manner? The reason for this writing is to awaken that place of serenity, to create emotional sobriety on a regular basis, not a sometime, someplace experience, an experience that is a state of being, Being Love, I am Love. I use to sign off with I am Love, all the time, than something shifted, because what I was experiencing was everything put love from myself. So it was time to “trudge the road of happy destiny” once again.

Serenity

Once again the practice of choosing consciously or judiciously choosing actions that are in harmony with the world around will offer the grace of serenity, will allow me to be present and leave the present to the past when the next moment comes, and I have acted Lovely from self into the world Lovely .

Question: What are your choices saying about you?

All Photographs are register @ Jeff Stroud. and can be purchased through me or http://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffstroud

17 thoughts on “exercising your power of choice.”

    1. Laurie,

      I am not sure whether observation is enough anymore. Observation can sure be enlightening!

      Thank you for commenting. Is this showing in your email or twitter or facebook? I am not sure what is happening!

  1. The idea of creating “emotional sobriety” is new to me, Jeff. What does it mean?

    Love the photos – I don’t know how you manage to take a dull brown winter landscape and make it look so appealing in your pictures… “Serenity” looks so refreshing!

    1. Barbara,

      Thank you for your comment and I promise to reply to your question about “emotional sobriety’ at later date. I am a cafe in Chester Vt at the moment.

      It is about catching the light or allow the other object to manifest rather then the dull brown of winter. Thank you, the streams would be refreshing if it where not 35/40 degrees!

  2. Jeff, I like this thought so much: Constantly readjusting my attitude, realigning my self with the Higher Power. For each moment is a moment to learn who I am, or who I am not or even no longer wish to be.

    It can be so challenging to change the parts of ourselves that we no longer wish to be. There are so many ways to approach these patterns. Your thoughts about them ring true. You are recognizing that which no longer serves, and moving to shift your energy.

    I actually have had some success with a Tantric-oriented method of making your unwanted habit/pattern/desire much larger, staying with it instead of trying to push it away. This can be a very tricky technique, and not one you’d want to try with alcohol or drugs or other behaviors. And it can also take a long time as you blow up your pattern to a bigger-than-life scenario. But as you do it, the pain of sticking with your old pattern becomes larger than the joy you think you’re getting out of it, and suddenly–unexpectedly–fully–the old pattern finally drops away.

    Namaste, friend. I love that you’re moving & growing & aware.

    1. I so grateful your response, it is warmly received !
      To some the change/shift is not happening fast enough, yet it is in process…

      I will consider the Tantric – oriented method. if you share with me more information.

      1. I wanted to give you more information, but it appears impossible to put into more words at this time. I am sorry, Jeff, perhaps will be able to articulate it better someday.

  3. I find myself more and more wanting to be in control of everything in my life. Talk about ego! I really seem to think I know know better than everybody, including God himelf. Sometimes my own arrogance astounds even me. Great post, Jeff!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  4. “I have unconscious expectation of how things are suppose to be, I have egoic reason why, a situation, person, place or thing should act accordingly” –( you and everyone else in the world). Even with the people I supposedly “love” I find myself getting angry at them for being themselves and not living up to my expectations. There is appropriate anger when someone invades my boundaries, but otherwise I have to stop and ask myself “am I angry with this person just because he or she is being who they are?” My choices in life indicate that for many years, I tried to live up to (or, in some cases, DOWN to) other people’s expectations. School teachers expected me to perform well, my parents expected me to make A’s, etc. I took a job as a secretary even thought I absolutely hated it because someone said “you would be good at that because you can type.” I wandered aimlessly unless I had someone’s expectations to meet. When I got tired of that noise and failure after failure, I started setting my own expectations and making choices that met them.

    By the way, I love the 12 steps and think that everyone can embody those principles and apply them to any way of being. And, yes, you are love.

    1. Barbara.

      So good to see you have come for a visit and left a comment!

      Yes. I think many of us have come from that place of seeking to full-fill others expectations of who we are, until we awaken, however that awakening presents itself.

      The 12 Steps are universal tools to use to surrender ones olds self/lower self to a power greater then the material things so many of us worship to begin our lives with. The 12 steps are universal truths that you/we can find in all major religions or spiritual/new age practices.

      Love to you!

Leave a Reply

