the act of creation is.

 

Why was I wakened at 5 am,  On Saturday? So I could read, make fresh coffee, take a brisk walk in the frosty chill of the 32 degree morning, while the Cardinal’s sung back and forth to each other, to the accompaniment of my seemingly out loud prayers that I usually pray while on the first walk of the day, yet those prayers are only in mind, sometimes mindful, sometimes said by thoughtless practice… the silence of morning, blasted away by a fire siren, the steady whoosh of highway traffic, that of my own or the cars the speed by on the turnpike. The wooded area surrounds and fills me with wonder, no camera this morning for I did not think of it and the light was just beginning to enlighten the day. Yet I see the fallen tree branches, the brown, rust colored leaves that give sense to the its presence. Sometime  I think the chaos of brush, branches, tangled among themselves, across paths need to be straightened up, for the woods in winter looks disheveled and unorganized but who am I to redecorate natures beauty. For it is in that entanglement, in the chaos that the patterns, and design are created to offer the visual, to make homes for the small animals and unseen creatures of the forest. (and my camera) 

I had read this passage last evening before falling asleep, it resonated and works here now. The passage is from Invisible Acts of Power by Caroline Myss she states, “Every single person is born with something to create – that creation might be a child or a business or a garden or a circle of friends or a peace accord. Whatever it is will be personally beneficial for others. Blocked creative expression is as detrimental to your well-being as a drug addiction. A raging internal conflict between acting on creative impulses or settling for the status quo can eventually promote physical illness. This internal strife locks into the second chakra first and foremost because this is the vortex where you act on your convictions. You need to manifest  your ideas and to make a difference in  your world, whether your influence is enormous or small. The size of your action or gift is not the issue; the act of creation is.” 

I have been given many gifts, and each morning the gift of a new day to breathe, to create, to act. Yet I often ask myself “where is the action, I know the words, and I can talk the talk but how do I walk the talk?”  Is what I am doing enough, sometimes yes and sometimes no, and sometimes we are not even aware to the little acts of giving that we share. Be grateful, Be mindful, and allow spirit to guide for each moment is an opportunity for wonder, for change, for the miracle to happen.

23 thoughts on “the act of creation is.”

  1. Your words are so true. Enjoyed hearing of your prayerful mindful presence as you walked. I also want to congratulate you on those fire twisted wire photos. I have not yet succeeded in photographing wire, although I hope to some day. You have given inspiration. Feeling your creative beauty this morning.

  2. Oh, Jeff, I love this meditation–its reflective, mindful quality. And the twisted wines are exquisite, aren’t they? Isn’t it amazing sometimes how the simplest acts of nature–its inclination to wind around itself, to twist itself, to spiral in on itself–can be so lovely? Wonderful writing!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. Kathy,

      I am thrilled to see your response here! Thank you so much. I find these twisted vines to be amazingly attractive, yet when we looked at them from a personal point they seem to make life tangled and unmanagable..

      Hugs
      Jeff

  3. Jeff, this was beautiful to wake up to this morning, thank you. “the act of creation is”…… I will be taking this wisdom with me into the day.

  4. THIS really caught me: “Sometime I think the chaos of brush, branches, tangled among themselves, across paths need to be straightened up, for the woods in winter looks disheveled and unorganized but who am I to redecorate natures beauty. For it is in that entanglement, in the chaos that the patterns, and design are created to offer the visual, to make homes for the small animals and unseen creatures of the forest. (and my camera) ”

    There IS a pattern in the chaos and its the chaos itself. I started thinking that it is the lack of pattern that allows animals to blend in with their surroundings. If there was a pattern, the animal would stand out as not being of the pattern. We humans like our patterns, our organization, a tidiness that says “I am in control” while your eye/camera captures the ultimate organization of nature: it allows a presence so that everything can live within it. You create sense from chaos and in that instant moment of time you capture the ultimate creation: life.

    1. Barbara,

      It is finding the balance, shifting the perspective, letting go, that allows our lives to have color and passion, it is in the twistedness that gives our presence the opportunity to see itself…

      I am so grateful you found time to stop by and take time to comment, Thank you thank you!

  5. Striking pictures of the tangling vines, Jeff! It is a wonder how they know which way to grow in order to fasten themselves securely to various stems and twigs…

    My Ukrainian grandfather lived with us until he died when I was eight years old. His daily project was to go out in the woods with his axe and “straighten up” the woods, making neat piles of brush which we were not allowed to play with. I often wondered what the animals thought of his seemingly compulsive efforts. Later I learned that it was a common practice in Europe for people to keep the undergrowth cut back in the woods.

    I love how you and your camera find the beauty of nature in the woods without any redecorating on your part…

    1. Barbara,

      Imagine needed to “straighten up” the woods! Yet there is sense to those who had yards and farms… and they have been doing it here along the edges of the football field.
      I am amazingly awed by your response and the response of others who have been following my blog for sometime, the comments allow me to know or see into myself… Bless you!

  6. Though it has taken awhile to wander by and walk with you as you muse and take the photography which inspire – the post is as fresh as it was the day you posted it. Beautifully and poetically written and the photographs are exquisite.

  7. Thanks for the road trip, Jeff! I have been to Vermont only once and found it much like you describe it. Saw a brown bear and lots of other critters. I love your quote from Caroline Myss — that we are all here to create. We don’t know how or who our actions will affect. We don’t always know the impact of our creations. Like you, I often still wonder if I am “walking the talking” that I know is true for me. The only way to know is to be mindful, present, and aware. My life is going so fast right now between work and completing my internship at Loyola that I often don’t have time to sit down (or stand still!) and reflect. You are reminding me to make the space for that to happen.

    1. Barbara,

      Thank you for responding! I was wondering how you knew I was in Vermont from this blog, and weather you meant to respond here or on the latest blog? It is all good!
      What I have come to understand as you have stated “The only way to know is to be mindful, present, and aware.” as well as to listen to those around.
      I am glad you are continuing with your education, where are you interning?

Leave a Reply

