Autumn Leaves

The falling leaves drift by my window

The falling leaves of red and gold

I see your lips, the summer kisses

The sunburned hands I used to hold

 

Since you went away the days grow long

And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song

 

But I miss you most of all, my darling

When autumn leaves start to fall

 

 

There are numerous versions of this song Autumn Leaves the first time I heard this was Barbra Striesand’s version, sad and beautifully performed.   In recent years Eve Cassidy’s version has come across my ears, and it seems many prefer that version.

 

16 thoughts on “Autumn Leaves”

    1. You certainly jumped right into it! I am sure I could here those Ohhs and Aaahs!
      Nat King Cole was the first person to record the English version for the film of the same name.

      Thank you Laurie!

  1. Humming along with you, admiring your photos. I especially like the first leaf one, and then the winter one evokes such a contrasted feeling. Good to see a blog from you today!

  2. Kathy,

    I am glad you have had the opportunity to admire the photos. Yes winter does evoke contrasting feelings…

    I was glad to get this blog out!
    Thank you so much for coming by!

  3. Oh, Jeff! These pictures are so vivid and stirring, capturing the very essence of what makes autumn colors so appealing. Our autumn show was a dud this year – not sure what to blame for it – tropical storm, global warming, freak snowstorm – or all of them… I’m so glad you had a beautiful display in your neck of the woods!!

    I’ve never seen the movie, “Autumn Leaves” and Netflix doesn’t seem to carry it… 😦

    1. Barbara,

      I didn’t think we were going to get any good color for while and than!!! Here it is, lasted a few days maybe a week, there are still a few trees clinging to their leaves.
      Sad yours was a disappointment.

      I have never seen the movie “Autumn Leaves” either, so not to worry.

      Thank you so much for enjoying the walk in the woods!

  4. HI, Jeff — simply beautiful pictures. They capture both the mood and color of this season. Down here in Maryland, the trees are getting bare. Leaves carpet the lawns and driveways like snowflakes. There is something lonely and yearning in the air when the sun moves south and the long shadows are cast in the early afternoons. The bare and naked tree limbs remind me of slumber and vulnerability. Your photos remind me that it is time to go home.

    1. Yes, Barbara, there is something that shifts with the shift in time, or it seems too anyway.
      Mom was out the other day raking the front lawn, there is a big old maple, I told her to wait until all the leaves were down. The next day the tree was bare…

      There is still color in the woods, yet the paths are inches deep in varying colors and forms of leaves… impressive !

      Time of letting go!

      Thank you so much for coming by!

  5. Jeff,
    This may be the only place I find beautiful leaves. We came home after a visit south to family and after a wind and rain storm and the leaves are just a messy, squishy mash everywhere. But then we have the majestic evergreens to help us stand tall…

    Thank you for this beautiful post and song…and thank you for your comments on Patricias Wisdom too…
    Such beauty is thanksgiving

    1. Patricia,

      Thank you so much for stopping by the reluctant bloger! Great to see you here. I am very grateful for your response, the sad thing or the joy of this blog is that, we get to live in the space of beauty that was created. For now the leaves are gone mostly, and the photos are too…

Leave a Reply

