Anger is a voice, a shout, a plea, a demand.

Anger is our friend. Not a nice friend. Not a gentle friend. But a very, very loyal friend. It will always tell us when we have been betrayed. It will always tell us when we have betrayed ourselves. It will always tell us that it is time to act in our own best interest. 

Anger is not the action itself. It is action’s invitation.  Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way. pg. 62.

Anger will always tell us when we have betrayed ourselves. It is action’s invitation! So very true, anger is not being expressed at this moment but it has been a light that shone on my path a few weeks, maybe a month ago informing me it was time to move beyond that place I have been sitting. Time to look at my path, to take action in my life and make action part of my life. As a recovering person, as an artist, as a spiritual being, it was time to uncover the fear, to look trust/mistrust in the face, to find in my heart what has been holding me back.  My own fear, my trust of the world in which I longed to walk.

I have for the past month or so been silent here, but not silent in my discernment, not silent in my art, but silent with my words. For what are words? Words are expressions of thought, creating one kind of action, yet action entails movement from one place to another, from one form of Being to another. Julia Cameron states earlier that “sloth, apathy, and despair are the enemy.”  Not Anger. Anger jump up and pushed me off the cliff, it was time to fly again.

I have made a commitment to return to AA Meetings on a regular basis, and a particular commitment to a special meeting once a week. As well as to begin to rebuild friendships and fellowship that I have for to long pushed aside.  I got out of my own way and have connected to the Photography groups and links I have to get my work exhibited, have myself taught through interaction with other artist. The interview with Terrill Welsh on her blog Creative Potager  came at a time that I was in the need for some affirmation of who and what I am and what I Being.  I am truly grateful for Terrill’s support and encouragement.

The Philadelphia Photographic Society 149th year Exhibition has been going on for the past month in which I have two nature photographs on display and I was so thrilled to see them just inside the doorway as I looked into the room, well-lit and exhibited not to be missed.  This exhibition is being held at the Plastic Club until the end of the month.

These months of silence ending in a outbrust of anger jogging loose the apathy confused as contentment have certainly not been empty. They have been filled with contemplations, building new and old friendships, dusting off books of art, expanding knowledge of who I am and who I am choosing to be.

The Universe will reward you for taking risk on its behalf.  Shakti Gawain

19 thoughts on “Anger is a voice, a shout, a plea, a demand.”

  1. Jeff it is good to see your words flowing again here 🙂 I am not one to do much of my own process with words. I am much more likely to come see someone like you and do energy work through my body. It is odd I think because often I help others find their way by listening to their words in counseling or coaching but it is not my way… I am much more likely to go for a long walk in the woods. So I am guessing what you needed to do next before writing today’s post just didn’t need any words to be shared.

    It was an extreme pleasure to host you through our interview over at Creative Potager. I am so appreciative that you did what you needed to do to show up in our creative community there and also in other parts of your life. Seems like you are clear about your next steps and I trust that you will make it happen, one day, one hour, one minute and one second at a time. Best of today to you!

  2. Terrill,

    I needed whatever I needed to go through the process… wether through words of others, words in silence, words through creativity, the path usually leads back around.

    Thank you for you comments.

  3. Well Hot Damn! I’m so glad that Jeff is back in town 🙂

    Here are some of your ACTION packed thoughts that struck me:

    – Anger JUMPED UP and PUSHED ME off the cliff, it was time to FLY again

    – I GOT OUT of my own way

    – JOGGING LOOSE the apathy

  4. Glad to see you back here, Jeff, sharing your precious self. I am glad your friend anger provided some energy to move you forward. Loving the thoughtful wisdom shining out between and through your words.

  5. I knew you were around . . . just being real quiet. It sounds as if you have broken through a barrier, some way of being in the world that you are finished with. Your words are strong and committed. There are times when my experiences have been wordless, when I could not speak of or write about it. The only thing I could do is just be in the world. Anger is a stronger motivator than depression. Anger has a passion for being known. I am glad you are choosing to channel it here.

  6. Begin, always begin. Look life in the eye and trust the guidance of your spiritual dimension, Jeff. I thought this post was excellent, because you’re right about how anger can tip our boat upright again … get us moving once more. Have been in a Zen kind of mood lately, so here’s a quote you might like. ~ Zen lives in the present. The Whole teaching is: how to be in the present; how to get out of the past which is no more and how not to get involved in the future which is not yet, and just to be rooted, centered, in that which is. ~Osho

    1. Daisy,

      So great to see you here and read your message! Thank you so much. I seek to be in the present as much as possible… even while the past wishes to attack me from sights unseen.

  7. Sorry I missed this powerful post, Jeff. I, too, was struck by your observation that anger jumped up and pushed you off the cliff so that you knew it was time to fly again. It’s wonderful that you’ve found some good ways to respond to the demands of anger. Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

