Being Grateful!

There is no illness or life condition that cannot be cured. But if we insist on cure, we may miss out on real spiritual healing,  if our attachment to cure creates a battle inside us. If recovery from an illness is in the service of our growth or the growth of another, a physical cure — even a so-called miraculous cure — can happen in the twinkling of an eye. If being ill is in service of our growth or the growth of another, cure is unlikely, but spiritual healing is very likely if we make peace of mind our most important priority. Joan Borysenko

Thorns with Joy

This was the “seed thought” in “Pocket full of Miracles” this morning which was very serendipitous, for today in 1998 I drove myself to my first AA meeting, after being arrested for public drunkenness a few weeks before, and a year or so after I had been arrested for drunken driving in which I had to attend counseling. I wasn’t ready than but a year later and second arrest caused me to reach out.  To seek  recovery, which I didn’t know I was seeking. Did it happen in a “twinkling of an eye” no not really, it was a process, of  admitting I had a problem, surrendering the drink and my life to a Higher Power, which at the time was the AA program and the men and women who had come before me, who were in service to the growth of another. Those people in the rooms loved me until I could love myself, they told their stories, they shared their hopes and dreams. Thank you all for being there!!!

Bud and the Bloom!

22 years later here I am. I am not that same person I was, I have surrendered many times, I have practiced the steps of AA, I have been of service to new comers and old timers who sought assistance, through telling my story, to walking the walk and talking the talk.  I don’t attend meetings as I once did, but I am always aware I am one drink away from a drunk. I am always aware that another human being maybe reaching out to hear the right words, to have someone listen to them for the first time.

I seek the Higher Power in all that I do, the divine guides my path, shines the light from my heart. I am grateful for each and every moment that I have been granted sobriety .

“God Grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change, the courage to change the things I can, and the willingness to know the difference! ”

I could go on and on but I will not! I a grateful !

I am Love!

Breaking through
14 thoughts on “Being Grateful!”

  1. Hi Jeff, thought I’d stop by, say hello. Appreciate your visit to SunnyRoomStudio and nice to find you on FB, as well. Life is full of really good people and it’s a joy to connect with kindred spirits. Enjoyed your post! –Daisy

  2. This story actually brought tears to my eyes. I am so glad you decided to heal and are here today to share your beautiful life with us. I have a brother who was in rehab for 3 months and I am not sure how he is doing now that he is out. Being that we are 2000 miles apart, I cannot see for myself. His disease ended up with him being jobless and homeless and near destitute. But for some reason, that was not enough of a message to get him to seek help. His daughter took him in and finally convinced him.
    I believe in miracles. I think they happen all the time.

    1. Barbara,

      I am thrilled you believe in miracles because they do happen everyday, every moment. I am a living breathing one… as well as you are!
      I am glad you felt safe enough to share the story of your brother, it is healing for you to do so! I will place him in my Circle of healing!
      Thank you for being part of this day with me !

  3. Jeff I am grateful for having got to know you over the years through our blogging connections. May your life continue to unfold with the gifts you have to offer. Congratulations. Terrill

  4. Oh those pretty little pale blue blooms breaking through – so sweet and cheerful. I am so proud of the choices you’ve made over the past 22 years, Jeff, and wish you continued success and healing! Thunderstorms arriving – getting off computer…

  5. happy birthday to you and AA, Jeff – [recognizing that today is Founder’s Day in Akron]. Thank you for walking the walk and talking the talk one day at a time. [loving radiant blessings] Syl

  6. Barbara,

    Those pretty little pale blue blooms are really white apple blossoms, it is the effect of the light that make them blue…
    Thank you for your encouragement and support of my journey for the past 22 years!

Leave a Reply

