Stayed to long a the fair!

Expectation is the fools income. Tag on Long life tea.

I am late, late for a very important date! A date with myself spent writing my blog/morning pages. And since it is late it is not a quiet as it usually is, there are people working behind me at the apartment complex, talkin nonsense, running some kind of big truck, sound like a trash truck. Plus I was not sure I would get on-line, I was having difficulty at first but found another wi-fi link. I am most grateful for this!

I am late because I slept in or rather woke up at 5 am to pee, brush my teeth, and read for about an hour and then fell back to sleep until 8 am. After dog walking and some photographing, I wonder how many people take their camera with them the first thing in the morning. Before coffee or tea, before breakfast?  I have been wishing to capture some amazing fungi that is growing beneath one of my favorite tree. These are amazing creators growing very rapidly and creating some wondrous flowing designs.

Ruffled fungi

I am late this morning because I went to the Salem County 4 H Fair, to check on friends from the Salem County Art League. Also I realized I needed to get out the house, I had to a need to see what else going on in the world.

I almost did not get to the fair, I wanted to go earlier in the day, yet I got the 2 0’clock  energy run down, so went to read The Red Tent very interesting so far, and than fell asleep for about and hour. Got up walked the dogs, and than began dinner, Fresh golden beets, sliced roasted potatoes with onion, and Chicken Veggie burgers.  So by 6:30 I was heading out the door to Salem county. Once I get into Woodstown, close to where the fair is, I go in the wrong direction, it is always amazing to see all this farm land, wide open space, in little old New Jersey, but it is there. Not as much as it once was but New Jersey is the Garden State.

Sweet sugar

At the fair at first glance looks like a huge parking lot, five dollars entrance fee, much small lay out the Washington County Fair in up state NY we use to go to from Easton Mt. I walked through the grounds after finding a parking space, and wondering if I will ever find my van once it gets dark in all these cars. The aroma of cow, horses, rabbits, and other assorted animals, is the welcome on receives upon entrance among the open buildings, the fragrance of food cooking, fair food, sugar sweet scent of cotton candy, the frying of burgers, the reheating of pulled pork, the sound of children and parents chasing after them when the child looks upon a cow, or a goat.

This little piggy went to the fair

There are groupings of people about everywhere, adolescence/pre-teens , elder people sitting on benches enjoying a seat while eating the fresh farm ice cream or funnel cake.

I find the Salem County Art League booth on the side of one of the first buildings at front of the fair grounds. Terry was manning the booth, we chatted for a while and then I wandered off to see what I could see, to capture some candids, and photographs some animals. To look at the prize arts and crafts building where they had hundreds of photographs of some very talented young people 4 H ers. In another building in which I went to say hi to another photographer who Terry said was taking Facebook photographs to raise money for his charity, lo and behold is my brother Ken sitting next to the Photo set up. Ken is there, at first I thought with things from their Christian book store but he was there with his church. They had little crafts for the kids to make, we chatted for a while. I got my photo take by Big Chris while we talked about cameras and selling our work, etc.  On i wandered about, I went back to the Art league booth, to report my findings and chatted with some people about the rodeo which is right across the street. So we might do a photo shoot there next month. Yes boys and girls there is a Rodeo in South Jersey, Cow Town Rodeo. I first heard of this Rodeo when I was in the Air Force, 2000 miles away in Colorado Springs when I met a young man who and lived and rode there, I was unbelieving for I had not lead a shelter life, I had just not ever been around cowboys.

BlackSmith

My last adventure was to buy fresh farm made ice cream, I had chocolate, I eat it while walking through the bunny pavilion, fat furry ones, tiny short hair and long, Flemish Giants where the most impressive rabbits I have seen, rabbits in every shade of color, black, brown, reddish brown, gray. I remember my thoughts were why do they insist on placing rabbits in cages four feet off the ground? I know it is easier to clean up but gee, what is the sensation for the rabbit, the is a land animal to be suspended in the air!

I was going to write a quote and expression of emotion/feeling from Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet that captured the essence of my leaving Easton Mt Community yet I am not sure it fits here now. Yet since it did not leave my mind as I wrote I will share it.

But as he descended the hill, a sadness came upon him, and he thought in his heart:

How shall I go in peace and without sorrow? Nay, not without wound in the spirit shall I leave this city.

Long were the days of pain I have spent within its walls, and long were the nights of aloneness, and who can depart from this pain and his aloneness without regret?

Too many fragments of the spirit have scattered in these streets, and too many are the children of my longing that walk naked among the hills, and I cannot with-draw from them without burden and an ache.

It is not a garment I can cast off this day, but a skin that I tear with my own hands.

Nor is it a thought I leave behind me but a heart made sweet with hunger and with thirst.

With that I will now depart from these pages for the day. Even now the above lines conjure the sweet hunger and thirst for community and social experience that share my hearts song.

5 thoughts on “Stayed to long a the fair!”

  1. Jeff – Your detailed description made me feel like I was right there with you. I love the photograph of “this little piggy” and the “blacksmith” — they really brought it home for me. And I’m so glad you decided to include the quote at the end.

    I’m so glad you took me to the fair with you. Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

