unique expression

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening, that is translated through you into action, and because there is only  one of you in all time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and will be lost.” Martha Graham

upside down

This quote spoke to me this morning as the day unfolds to the evening of the Artist Reception at the William Way Center in Philadelphia, Pa. in which I am showing 14 piece collection of Photography that is my unique expression of who I am, and who I am emerging to be as an artist. This event/exhibition is a powerful step forward for my work and for the photograph that I am becoming. I am trying to have no expectation of the crowd, the comments, I am only seeking to enjoy the experience. The praise and affirmation are guides along the road to expanding my work, as well as any criticism that may be brought forth. Staying in the moment, honoring the work, honoring spirit for she is what has brought me to this place, has unveiled this creative gift and I am most grateful each and every time I have the opportunity to photograph, to view nature, people, places, and things, through the lens and in physical form that presents it self as a photograph. Earlier this morning I was drawn to lines about sensuality from Laurie Buchanan blog

“Sensuality is something much broader; it’s how in tune we are with our senses. Sensual perception includes the appreciation of beauty and refinement; of simplicity and […]

Laurie’s blog is about the health benefits of healthy sex which has nothing to do with what I am writing about, except in the form that I find sensual healthy pleasure in taking photographs, as well as sharing the beauty and sensuality expressed in art and the art of nature, all divinely created to offer an opportunity to Be awed of the world in which we live.

standing tall

I picked up Mom from 30th Street  Station during rush hour traffic in center city yesterday afternoon, the worst part was the traffic around the station itself, the rest flowed through the city rather well. Taking the local roads once we got into NJ, for the highway was backed up from the the Walt Whitman bridge which traffic I stay out of… gave us time to catch up, make some plans. Mom has consented to attend the Artist Reception with me, now this is an event worth recording, for she has not attended any of the receptions before, and this exhibit being a very important experience in my life will mark a new awareness for her to my commitment to this expression of creativity. I am grateful and honored to have her share this moment with me!

This blog/pages is not what I intended to write at all, I was going to write more about the task involved in week 3 Recovering the sense of power. My thoughts are if I do this work “publicly” it has a different energy that if I do it myself for myself. It shift the energy, it illuminates it in whole other light.

The task for today is to name the habits that “may interfere with your self-nurturing and cause shame.” I do tend to watch too much TV … I find I use being on the internet, Facebook, even blogging to distract me at times. So finding the right amount of time to use these as “tools” to inform and inspire rather then dull my mind or cause me distraction from what is important. Goodness is that all! Most likely not but nothing else wishes to come forth at the moment. or I am not ready to share them here as of yet, I am not sure which?

Waiting

Growth Question: Do you find  your expression of creativity unique? If so how and why?

I am Love, Jeff

6 thoughts on “unique expression”

  1. Jeff – Break a leg! You know I mean that in the best way — good luck on your exhibit. My definition of “luck” is the intuitive means of success on all levels.

    Upside Down, Standing Tall, and Waiting — the colors you captured are like slipping into a cool, silk kimono — refreshing.

    Growth Question: Do you find your expression of creativity unique? If so, how and why?

    The topics I write about are not unique. However, I present them in a unique way — through the lens of my experience (good, bad, or indifferent). And typically, I try to make my point in as few words as possible.

    1. Laurie,

      Thank you! You will be there with me is spirit of course!

      Wow Cool, skill kimono-refreshing! What wonderful comments!

      Yes I witness that about the unique way you write and share your experience!

      I am Love, Jeff

  2. Well, I definitely felt you were writing about your sense of power! Creativity is power. It is energy. And remember no matter what ANYONE says about your photos, whatever they say is all about them and their perspectives, their feelings, their view of themselves is reflected in your photos when they look at them – it is all projection. What I enjoy is that I see aspects of me in the pictures you take. They speak to me. Whether or not I like what they tell me is my problem.

    All you have to do is read the paragraph above and it is evident that my creativity is as unique as I am.

    1. Barbara,

      Well maybe I don’t understand what power is? Yes, Creativity is power, energy in motion… Everyone I spoke with during the reception was thrilled with the work they saw, they all had different favorites, and different reasons for comments. I was a joy and a humbling experience.
      Yes I do see your uniqueness within your words…

      I am Love, Jeff

  3. That wonderful Martha Graham quote caught my eye! I used to have in my quote collection but somehow lost it transferring from Gaia to WordPress. Thanks for bringing it back to me! A good reminder not to block our unique (quirky) creative energy.

    Love the upside down picture – summer trees in all their glory, lines parallel to the grass. Very nice! And it’s to know that the dandelions were waiting with you… it’s something how nature so often reflects our mood or situation…

    I’m so glad your mom decided to attend the artist reception with you and I’m looking forward to hearing about the experience. The approval and support of our parents is so important to us, no matter how old we get.

    Growth Question: Do you find your expression of creativity unique? If so how and why? I can’t keep myself from answering this one with a quote. When I write I feel its quirkiness (uniqueness) but I’m constantly seeing my own thoughts expressed in the words of other writers who seem to be kindred spirits. Maybe because we’re all connected in a universal mind…

    “A man should learn to detect and watch that gleam of light which flashes across his mind from within, more than the luster of the firmament of bards and sages. Yet he dismisses without notice his thought, because it is his. In every work of genius we recognize our own rejected thoughts; they come back to us with a certain alienated majesty.”
    ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson (Self-Reliance)

    1. Barbara,

      Each expression is unique even if it has it’s source from else where, it is unique to us and how it informs who we are and what we are trying to express, convey, experience with our creativity be it homemaking, lovemaking, art making, life making, it is all a unique experience through us!
      Thank you for you thoughts and comments! I love the Emerson quote!

      I am Love, Jeff

Leave a Reply

