Star Spangled Day

Color Guard

Here it is July 3rd and I am home writing my blog… I am writing my blog because I made a commitment to myself and I declared it here on my blog as well a few weeks back. So  I am not home because I have to write my blog, I could have done that this morning maybe, but I did not have much happen between my last writing and this morning. Not that much has happen in the intervening hours since 7:30 am and 8 pm when I begun writing.

I am around the house because Muffin get very disturbed by the fireworks people shoot off in their back yards, and she needs to have reassurance all is well! I read a piece this morning about animals and fireworks on Care 2 care site. They suggested playing music, not to drown out the sound but to calm the animal, they also suggest giving them Reiki, hey I can do that. But mostly just be reassuring.

I was thrilled to see a comment from an unknown person Coralie Plozza a fellow photographer from down under. Thank you for stopping by. Please check out Coralie’s wonderful photography at Rainbow Farm.

I am always thrilled to have new people stop by my blog/pages to read and comment!  I hope to attract others as time goes by. And I was surprised to not have Laurie be the first to respond. And I am always grateful for the two Barbara’s that are regular commenters/visitors to my blog. Always keeping me on my toes, intellectually and spiritually.

The days are heating up again, it was in the high 90’s but with a nice breeze and suppose to continue to get hotter and more humid as the week progresses. Summer is here for sure, the raspberry’s are ripe, blueberry’s at the farmers stands, Corn on the cob, reading for crunchy eating and running down your arm. Fresh basil in the garden, well not in the ground yet but will be soon, along with the parsley, and dill, rosemary has been growing in our little weed patch for a while, along with sage which is struggle to keep a foot hold among the chives and mint that wish to over run the whole garden. My sister and brother-in-law cleaned up the garden patch, planted tomato, egg plants, some lettuce and kale, along with chocolate peppers, and green peppers. So we do have a little something going on for healthy eating and being green.

I lost my concentrations, Muffin wanted to go for a walk, which was refreshing and a different experience than what we usually have in the morning and later afternoon walks through our little wooded area paths. The light was just dimming on the edges, splashes of gold and orange from the sitting Sun, and golden seed pods of the wild grass that grow alone the places we walk. There was a sweeter fragrance, green but fresh that greeted us as we passed through trees as they brushed our heads and bodies. The birds still singing in the trees, the owls were no where in sight, have not seen them for a few days, they may be gone for the season? Yet I continue to keep and eye for them.

Quaker City String Band ( Mummers)

Around ten o’clock this morning Arden, my sister says she is about to go up the street to the Magnolia Annual 4th of July parade which marches the length of the town, One Square Mile of Friendliness, up Evesham avenue to Albertson Park, named after our founder. I missed most of the parade because I was about to walk the dogs and they had a mind of their own, taking longer the usual, and then I had to get cleaned up, and freshly dressed to be seen in public. When I got to down stairs to leave, Muffin wanted to go out in the yard, and we usually don’t leave them alone out there. But it was nice enough and I would not be all that long.

In the crowd

I got to the end of our street that connects with Evesham just in time to miss the fire trucks, and time to catch the String Band which was at the end of the parade… took some photos and walked along with them up to Albertson Park, as all the people began to enter in to find places among the trees, to view the booths and table of kids things, food items, bakes sale held by the Magnolia Historic Society, the kids were all bunched around the face painting table, getting made up as cats and dogs, butterflies and heaven knows what else.

Star Spangled singer

I found my sister sitting on the curb with a family friend of my mothers, who I have not seen in years and once I was done photographing the town leaders who were all sat up on a flat-bed truck with a podium and loud-speaker to address the town ship and offer them blessing of the 4th. A young girl in a red taffeta dress, she must not been more than 6, song the Star Spangled Banner , very well in fact. After that it was introduction time of Mayor and counsel… I finally got over to greet my sister and our family friend Pat. Who my parents spend much time with back in the day, when we where in High school and later.

As Arden and I walked about we met up with another couple who, I went to school with their daughters, and they were wondering where I had been hiding. Ah, right under their noses, at the house. The wife said to me, “I don’t know if  you are more better looking now, then you where as a kid but you look good!” To my surprise, I have not complemented in that way in ages. Blush, Blush. We walked around a bit more to see the wares, say hi to more people, than back to the front of brough hall where the “sting band where performing and getting the people involved in the Mummers March to the music. I finally had had enough and came back home to have some lunch and check on the dogs, they did not even know I was gone.

Well that is my day July 3th 2010, of course I read, napped, made dinner, had at least three walks in and or around the wood. and now have written this blog/pages.

Grow Question: What did you do for your 4th of July ?

6 thoughts on “Star Spangled Day”

  1. Jeff – I wasn’t the first to respond because I’ve been flying under the radar all day (so to speak) writing my little heart out — recreating what I lost on my hard drive. I have, however, finally come up for air and turned the internet back on (I work offline so I won’t get derailed).

    I love the COLOR in the photographs in today’s post. I love that it looks very Norman Rockwell-ish in your photographs!

    Growth Question: What did you do for the 4th of July?

    Well, it hasn’t arrived yet … but this evening (like you) we’re soothing one of our dogs who hates fireworks. I use a blend of herbs and do Reiki.

    1. Laurie,

      I am glad that you have given your self the time to recreate the work you are missing! And that you know yourself well enough to get off line not to get distracted.

      Norman Rockwelish ! Hmm? Homey and Americana ! The camera is sit on vivid color, so it brings up more.

      Muffin was ok most of the evening, we play music and I stayed with her in the room while I wrote and watch a show on the computer.
      Yes the piece also suggested using Lavender Oil down their back from neck to tail, I don’t have any but if I did I would have. Plus it would make us both smell nice!

      Have a great 4th!

  2. Jeff, you can tell Muffin that I sympathize completely with her feelings about fireworks. Nerve-shattering! Did you try the Reiki? I used it on my son’s cat once when he and his wife were out of town. She was despondent and wouldn’t eat. After I gave her some Reiki she started eating and greeting me at the door, asking me for more Reiki when I came by to feed her every day.

    Your description of the vegetables and herbs growing in the garden, and the spontaneous walks with the dogs, sounds so grounded and peaceful. I’m not surprised your family friend commented favorably on your appearance. The changes and growth going on inside create an energy that shows up on the outside, too, even if someone can’t quite figure out what’s different about you. 🙂

    Tim’s working a 12 hour overtime shift today so I’ve got the 4th of July to myself. It may sound kind of corny, but I have several ancestors who fought in the American Revolution, and I will probably do some more online genealogical research in their honor. And I meditate on what they died for and believed in, and what they wished to leave their children and future generations. I hope that I will always remember and appreciate their sacrifices, and make it so that my descendants will too.

  3. Barbara R.

    Things where not to noisy last evening, we will see how this evening goes. Animals seem to be attracted to Reiki and is a good way to connect with them.
    Your experience with the cat is sweet!

    Once upon a time I was accused of being to Airy Fairy now I am grounded and airy fairy!

    Hey I am glad you will get to use your alone time productively. Doing the genealogical research seems to be an interesting experience for you.
    We have family in America at the time of the Revolution too, but I know nothing of them. A few years back I had a vision that I wanted to write something about my Father, he died at 50, I was in my mid 20’s, and I never really got to know him. So I started to ask around but did not get very far. Maybe I could pursue that once again.

    Happy 4th

    I am Love, Jeff

    1. It is amazing what you can find when you start looking into your family history. Tim’s parents were divorced when he was five years old and and he rarely saw his father after that. Then his father died when he was 48 and Tim was 26. Tim regrets never getting to know him. He came to visit us once and we went to visit him one time, so he got to meet his two grandsons before he died. I’m a tireless researcher so I’ve managed to piece together much of his life, we even met one of his ex-wives, but it’s still not the same as a relationship, but it’s better than nothing. If you ever get started searching again please let me know if you there’s anything I can help you with!

Leave a Reply

