Creative process/healing process

“Nobody sees a flower – really – it is so small it takes time – we haven’t the time – and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time.” Georgia O’Keeffe

Study in cabbage I

Just put words on the page, begin to type see what comes out. Stop looking for excuses not to write, when you mind is saying you need to write your pages for the day. Yet I say I have nothing to write, I had another awful day with my sugar crashing and the shakes and lethargy that come with that experience. So now it is after 7 of Friday. You did manage to make red lentil loaf with brown rice and bok choy and kale. The loaf needed a little more flavor or a sauce next time. It was my first attempt and I followed the recipe, so I will have to adjust some of the spices or flavors.

On one of our walks today, as we enter the field there was at least a half a dozen buzzards in motion, some still on the ground keeping guard of their late lunch,which I come to find out later, a big ground-hog. Not one from my dogs this time. Later there where two buzzards sitting up on the field night lights waiting for us to get out-of-the-way, waiting to finish their meal. Nature’s clean up crew!

I received the contract and W-9’s for the William Way center Art exhibit making things very “real” and professional. Wow! I also had found out a few days ago that Beans Coffee shop in Woodstown NJ where the Salem County Art League rents wall space for our exhibits has closed due to owing of back taxes and just general struggle to keep the coffee shop open and running for the past year. Or maybe longer. I got a call this afternoon that we could pick up our work from one of the other members at a later date, that there is no space as of yet to do an exhibit. So maybe it is time to concentrate on the Philadelphia Photography Society instead of going a half hour south to meetings and exhibits. That my work needs a larger, wider more experienced audience to exhibit too, as well as learn from? Something I will have to ponder more on. The WW Center exhibit is more or less pointing in that direction, since I have been approached twice by the vice president of the Philly Photo society to become a member I am inclined to intuit  it is my next direction for the growth of my creativity and expansion of my art exposure.

Study in Cabbage II

I finished reading The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown very interesting and insightful read. I have not been sleeping well through the night in last week, so reading has become my companion. Therefore I began reading The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood one of my favorite female writers. It will take me a while to get into the flow of her prose and story but I think it will be a very interesting journey?

So here I am half way down the page rambling on about this or that listening to Gerry Mulligan, “Mulligan Meets Monk” while I gleam so meaning out of my day, out of why my sugar keeps crashing, checking on my diet, trying to eat correctly, I did go off course earlier in the week and had some Bryers Ice cream, (twice). That could be it. More sugar than I have had in months, and has knocked me for tough road. I have not been out of the house other than to walk the dogs and sometime that took as much energy as I had to get around the woods. I had taken some photos as well, and it help being in the among the trees and feeling the breeze dance across the sky shimmering the leaves to create shadows along the paths and forrest floor. So all has not been wasted. If any moment is ever wasted, I am not sure, every moment gets us to the next and the next. It is just being present to the one we are in now that is important.

Study in Cabbage III

Growth Question: Is being creative healing for you? How so?

I am Love, Jeff

6 thoughts on “Creative process/healing process”

  1. lol… you came up in my tag surfer and the title intrigued me then the first line kept me reading as I too have this problem of thinking need to have a post all mapped out and perfect before writing it then giving up and doing nothing.. great post and great pics of cabbage would go great in a food magazine. as to your question YES being creative is healing for me waking me early to get up to see the sunrise hoping I can take a good photo of it and then sharing it with the world. Very healing and uplifting.

    1. Coralie,

      Thank you for connecting to my blog/pages! I am thrilled that my thoughts attracted your attention! The action of writing this last night was very healing, and opening of my thought process which has been a little groggy as of late.
      yeah playing with food and veggies catches my attention every once in a while, thanks for the comment of the photographs as well!

      I am Love, Jeff

  2. Jeff – My favorite photograph is “Study in Cabbage II” — how cool is that?! The meal that you made sounds delicious! I just bought red cabbage yesterday to add to a salad today. I’ve been soaking some pinto beans that I’ll cook this afternoon and add to brown rice with some pecans, red onion, and a lime-infused olive oil.

    I’m sorry about your sugar crashes. Ever since my “red licorice incident” a few weeks ago, I haven’t eaten anything that’s not close to the earth.

    I’m sorry about the coffee shop that closed. This is, indeed, a tough economy. Even if a person isn’t delinquent in their taxes it’s a tough row to hoe.

    Growth Question: Is being creative healing for you? How so?

    Yes, I find unleashing my creativity therapeutic. How so? It’s like a soothing balm.

    1. Laurie,

      As I was photographing these I kept thinking of Kathy’s blog about “playing with her food” I was in the midst of preparing a meal with the cabbage and the color and the light just grabbed my attention, so I took them out side…

      Hey as they say, “one door closes while another door opens” ! Sugar crashes, shops closing, events that can either discourage me or entice me to look deeper, find new solutions, or opportunities to grow.

      Thank you for your visit and comments always good to have your presence on my pages!

      I am Love, Jeff

  3. but I thought you said you had “nothing to write about” — and I think that is a direct quote. I love your study in cabbage photos and I agree, they would go great in a food magazine! The food you describe sounds delicious and I, too, am a Breyer’s ice cream fan. The problem with me and good ice cream is that one scoop is too many and a thousand are not enough. I am curious, though, why your sugar crashes have visited you this far out from eating ice cream. I am wondering if you need more protein to help stabilize your system (see http://radiantrecovery.com/). Being a vegetarian, it might get tricky, but rice and beans come to mind, although rice can be a bit thick on the carb side, too.

    To answer the growth question, yes, being creative is what I live for! I am finally at a stage in my life where I have the luxury of looking at some situations and thinking “what is the most creative way I could approach this?”

    1. Barbara,
      Once I got into the flow the writing became easier, expressions of my day presented themselves to be examine and shone light on.
      I will see what food magazine I can send photos too! Thank you!
      I am not sure what was up with the “sugar crashes”? I did have lentils and brown rice, I had oat meal for breakfast. It just as taking my body time to readjust. I will check out the site you have suggested.
      I am glad you have to luxury now in your life to approach things in a creative way!
      I am Love, Jeff

Leave a Reply

