Creative Drought?

“Always leave enough time in your life to do something that makes you happy, satisfied, even joyous. That has more of an effect on economic well being than any other single factor.” Paul Hawken

End of a cycle?

Not very inspired, have not real thoughts yet my fingers and mind are itching to write, to see what emerges this morning. So what are you going to write about, that the weather is way too hot and there has been no rain for weeks, not real moisture anyway and the wild plant life is getting very sad-looking, falling over, sagging, and even dried up.

Or are you going to write about your reaction to finding out someone was Ordained this past weekend that has caused you much distress? Discovering what lies beneath that reaction may be a freeing experience. Yet but I think I am still to close to the shock and dismay of this celebration of ordination to an obscure branch of the Catholic Church.

Even writing and thinking of this causes me great amount of distress, heaviness in the chest, sadness of heart, even anger is some way. I think I am still to close to this to deal with it now. I will have to find away to approach my reaction in the next few days.

What do you think?

I realized too that I had not been on www.redbubble.com much as of late either. That I have submitted photographs and have done my moderation on Candid Photography group in which I am a co-host, but other than that I have not ventured into others profiles in about a week. I really have not even viewed my own work via slide show or iPhoto other than to find work for here, and to post on Facebook of the March, etc. I wonder what’s up with that?

I need some new stimulation, some new inspiration, time to fill the well. So I open The Artist’s Way upon this quote from Plato; “The life which not examined is not worth living.” Seems appropriate for the moment, not unknown to me, this quote, and one I have use in many way to travel my path for years. Examining in the form of journaling, much like this, examining my actions and behavior, illuminating my path with works of literature of wisdom, from Scripture, course of miracles, self-help books, of many genre’s. Those words many times were greeted like long lost friends, which loved me as well as challenged me. Much like this darn blog/pages are doing today.

I look over at the Artist’s Way and what captures my attention a subtitle in week 10 recovering a sense of self-protection, the subtitle is DROUGHT  just like that in big bold letters, the paragraph begins “In any creative life there are dry seasons. These droughts appear from nowhere and stretch to the horizon like a Death Valley vista.” I don’t think my dryness is that dramatic at the moment. It could just be the drought outside, it could be a small social hangover, could be because I did not read anything very stimulating as of yet today.

Which way are you headed?

Julie Cameron suggest, “in a creative life, droughts are a necessity. The time in the desert brings us clarity and charity. When we are in drought, know that it is to a purpose. And keep writing morning pages. ” This is just part of the path, the sign post will show up if I keep at writing, continue to find inspiration in and around me.

Since I am not even close to chapter 10 yet this time around I will look to see what else is blocking me. Couldn’t be that people and situations from Easton Mountain keep presenting themselves to me. Someone seeking advise on going there for a few months, the founder being ordained, workshops that I would like to attend, another friend who as found inspiration and a second community there. All of these signs, responses and reactions to EMR seem to desire me attention, and it is my choice to give it may attention or not. Healing is going on so this must be part of that plan?

Growth Questions: Do you recall Droughts in  your life? What was your experience?

I am Love, Jeff

10 thoughts on “Creative Drought?”

  1. “In a creative life, droughts are a necessity…” I guess it makes the drought easier to bear if we know it’s a natural cycle… I’m always saying that the tide come in and then it goes out. Again and again. Such is the stuff of life and creativity. Wasn’t there a U2 song with a lyric about being stuck in the moment and not being able to get out of it? I remember feeling stuck at that time when it was frequently on the radio (before I had my iPod!) and it really struck a chord with me. But the tide came in again and went out again many times since then. Hope things start looking up for you again soon!

    I think it’s wonderful that your photos are portraying the beauty of all stages of life. Even past the bloom of youth, or partly blooming, or about to bloom. The way life truly is… Thanks for sharing that reality!

    1. Barbara R,

      I don’t remember the U2 song but I get the idea. Things look up always when you feel down, not that I am feeling down. Just kinda there!

      Thank you for you response to the Photographs!

      I am Love, Jeff

  2. Jeff – I can’t pick a favorite photograph because they ALL are jumping off the page at me. Beautiful!

    It sure looks as if Easton Mountain is “in your face” at this time.

    You’re right about the choice. Whether to give it your attention, or not. I suppose there will be pros/cons no matter which way you decide to jump. I think, perhaps, it’s the deciding to jump that counts — the sticking the stake in the ground.

    Growth Questions: Do you recall Droughts in your life? What was your experience?

    I can’t say that I’ve experienced a drought. However, I am currently experiencing a tremendous level of frustration that the data on my dead hard drive is still with the Geek Squad. So what is my response? I’m doing the best I can to recreate what has been lost. Who knows, maybe it’s even better than the first go-round …

    1. Laurie,

      Wow Really the photographs are ‘jumping off he page’ for you ! How great is that!

      Yeah Easton seems to be in my face, or path at the moment.

      I can understand your frustration… it does not seemed to have slowed you down much, you have found a way around this boulder in your path. Bless you!

      I am Love, Jeff

      1. Good Morning Jeff,
        My goodness your photo’s are just awesome.
        If I had any advise to which I almost never do is to just simply fill your cup with tea and your gas tank grab your camara and just strat driving. Half a day this way half a day back home. And of course cool tunes on the radio helps too.
        When my son who is a screenwritter, gets overwhelmed, he says to me,” Want to go for a ride?” We stop off at Sierra Java for a cup of coffee ( sorry not off the caffine yet) and we hit the road. We have these tunnels we like to go through and make a wish.
        For us all this takes 2 hours, but by the time we are back home we have talked, checked out scenary and made our intentions known to the Universe and we are ready to get back to work.

        Do you recall Droughts in your life? What was your experience?
        Ahh yes the good old drought days of being an artist.
        I am in constant flux about my artwork.
        I like to paint everything, landscapes, portraits, flowers, mandala’s and my favorite painting is always the one I’m working on at the time.
        For me it helps to read other artists biographies, If figure if they can do it, so can I.
        But here is my “get off your butt and do it” no fail motivation tool I will share with you.
        Egg Timer. Yes that’s it. I set it for 20min. and srart painting. If I like what I’m doing I set it again, if not I have aleast done something creative for 20 min.
        Good Luck, this too shall pass.
        ~Jean

  3. Jean,

    Thank you for your advise. It is lovingly offered and Lovingly accepted. Not much around here to drive too, not in this heat anyway. There are plans for this weekend to shoot from the Ben Franklin Bridge as well as a trip to New Hope Pa which is alone the Delaware close to where Washington Crossed the river.
    You seem to have a good grasp on your blocks and how to get your self in the right space. Thank you again, ((Hugs)))

    I am Love, Jeff
    Ps: you comments are showing up in odd places…

  4. Then again (you might want to read this comment second after my first one) there is still value in always looking deeper, peering deeper, looking beneath the surface. It’s amazing how many hidden or clouded insights can be uncovered when we dive beneath the waters.

Leave a Reply

