Rules of the Road

Many Colored Dragon

“When you are in touch with that dimension within yourself [the Truth of who you are] – and being in touch with it is your natural state, not some miraculous achievement – all your actions and your relationships will reflect the oneness with all life that you sense deep within.” A New Earth Eckhart Tolle

In light of those words above which spoke to me when I first read them again this morning knowing that it was the quote to use for a very belated blog/pages I find that I am now once again in touch with my natural state. After two days in the city running about taking photographs of the Dyke March/rally, and Gay Pride March/parade catching as much candid and social moments as I could. I am once again grounded after two days of unwinding, living like a bachelor, ignoring my whole foods diet by ordering take out, sitting around in my underwear, unwashed and unshaved I have found my ground, and my spirit to connect to all the effects of life and creativity.

March On

Last week I think it was I shared about social hangover and my behavior in the past few days lays claim to the effect of my interaction with humans on a long term basis. I felt like I had to sleep to rest my body, I had to turn off the noise, close down to reconnect to self. No one is home right now my sister Arden and her husband Jim are on vacation in Fl, so the house is quiet, I don’t have dinner to make each evening, so I didn’t. I do have to food shop and I did not have the energy to face being in a store for a long period of time to do so. Hopefully today?

I have been reading others blogs, as well as responding, and even connected to another artist blog Martha Marshall whom my friend Terrill has been inspired by. Terrill‘s blog is the one that has inspired me to begin to follow this path as well. Using the blog to connect creatively to other artist as a way to “fill my well” .  It some ways this has been slow going but the connections are there if I chose to use them. So I was seeking inspiration to move beyond my “Social hangover”, the well was not completely dry, yet I needed to splash around a bit, come up for air. Healing my sore body from walking miles, 26 blocks in the midday Sun surround by hundreds of people in celebrating moods, cheering, shouting, touching in beads, candy, t-shirts, shooting water guns, and just running amuck in the streets. surrounded by well wishers on the sidewalk curbs, shouting, taking photos, waving, as the parade meandered by.

Sharing Bubbles

For the first time this year in Philly I marched with the Radical Faeries which have not had a formal/informal group in the march in Philly in some time as far as I know of. So it was fun to be part of that lightness, that silliness while being among the crowds of people. Mitch Walker an early Radical Faerie wrote in White Crane these word to give meaning to the faeries, that the Faeries represent the first spiritual movement to be both “gay centered and gay engendered”, where gayness is central to the idea, rather than in addition to, or incidental to a pre-existing spiritual tradition.”

So here I was in the middle of the Market Street with faeries, many who I know had have gathered with since returning to NJ/Pa area almost three years ago, taking photographs of them as well as the people on the sidewalk, in the crowds taking photographs and cheering us on. We got to the end of the parade and started walking back through the parade because we had decided to not stay in line a long the route anyway, cavorting in and out of the other marchers, and floats, walking with the hand painted, flower and fruit decorated Radical Faerie banner. Causing a fun stir among the people we passed by, we even humored with the Christian Folk who always insist on attending our festivals with their banners and claiming we are sinners, reading from the Bible, and making statements to them of our doom. Hmm? Fun was had, not hurt done, laughter and fabulosity were created and shared around the town. We spent time after at the loft because it started to rain, and we all rush off the street, to unwind and refresh, listening to and telling our adventures rather than attend the festival on “Penn’s Landing.”

Faerie Moments

Well now it is Wednesday, I got up at my usual time 6:00 am, walked the dogs in the early quiet of the birds songs and moist morning air. Made my breakfast of Grits with fresh NJ Blueberry’s , Green Tea knowing that today was right for the writing. I started yesterday afternoon but got joyfully interrupted by a phone call from my friend Linda who had been on a cruise with her BF for the last 10 days, so we had to catch up. The moment was gone after that to continue to write, the energy fizzed and was never recapture. I truly tried and even saved the draft but there was not finding the thread.

unusual suspects (faeries)

In my self discovery journey I am at a place where the “self” that I am working on in The Artist’s Way is “self-identity” and in Life Harmony I am “self-defining meaning what defines me or who I am, what do I identity with? According to Life Harmony “self-definition includes a sense of purpose, optimism, good humor and healthy boundaries.” Discovering those area and having them to inform me of who and what I am within a situation, social, creative, working environment allows for a happier way of being in my life, informing the choice I can and will make.

In the Artist’s Way the Rules of the Road offer a way to identify my purpose as an artist, as a photographer.

In order to be an artist, I must:

  1. Show up a the page. Use the page to rest, to dream, to try.
  2. Fill the well by caring for my artist.
  3. Set small and gentle goal and meet them.
  4. Pray for guidance, courage, and humility.
  5. Remember that it is far harder and more painful to be a blocked artist than it is to do the work.
  6. Be alert, always, for the presence of the Great Creator leading and helping my artist.
  7. Choose companions who encourage me to do the work, not just talk about doing the work or why I am not doing the work.
  8. Remember that the Great Creator loves creativity.
  9. Remember that is is my job to do the work, not to judge the work.
  10. Place this sign in my workspace: Great Creator, I will take care of the quantity. You take care of the quality.

Well I think I have covered that road rather well in the past few days. I have chose my path, my people, my work, my creations, I took care of my self and my artist when he needed healing or caring.

I am grateful these experience of the pages today, I feel that I am back on track and the flow is streaming forward.

Growth Question: How do you self identify ?

I am Love, Jeff

8 thoughts on “Rules of the Road”

  1. Jeff – I know I told you this in a side email this morning, but it bears repeating — publicly. I am doggone proud of you. Your blog posts and your photograpy are simply amazing! I’m honored to be in your sphere of influence. You have contributed to my personal energy signature in a positive, uplifting, constructive and healing way. Thank you.

    How do you self identify?
    As a channel for grace

    1. Laurie,

      I am most grateful for your public declaration of your pride of what I am Being and doing here in these blogs/pages!!! Great big ((((HUGS)))!

      I am Love, Jeff

  2. The bubbles picture is by far my most favorite, Jeff. How could anyone look at that picture and not feel happy? In this writing, the way you describe your way of being in the world at the rally/march and then how you are once you return home was filled with: realness, honesty, acceptance, and entertainment. You ARE entertained by the world and its people, and I think that might be part of your overstimulation when you are out and about. It is good that you know your boundaries and when to stop. You are inspiring me to the point that I am thinking about digging out my copy of the Artist’s Way and taking the journey myself.

    1. Barbara K.

      I am glad you enjoyed the Photos, I almost did not post the bubble pix, but I enjoyed it too!
      A great way to observe my state of Being in the world, always good to get another’s perspective! Thank you so much!

      You are the second person who seems to have been inspired to get on the Artist’s Way journey once again! It would be great to have a little circle of people journeying this path! What fun it would be!!!

      I am Love, Jeff

  3. “When you are in touch with that dimension within yourself [the Truth of who you are] – and being in touch with it is your natural state, not some miraculous achievement – all your actions and your relationships will reflect the oneness with all life that you sense deep within.” A New Earth Eckhart Tolle

    Hi, Jeff! that line bears repeating. Truly realizing the truth of who we are–before we do anything–that desire is paramount in my life, too. To realize we are all of this (swinging eyes wide around the room) and to realize this in a way that fills us up completely…realizing that we were always filled up completely.

    We are all closer than brothers and sisters. We are One Awareness, undivided. And yet also divided into individuality so we can better see ourselves.

    I honor knowing the you that is part of it all. thank you.

Leave a Reply

