Creative Journey

On exhibit

When you “Think of the universe as a vast electrical sea in which you are immersed and from which you are formed, opening to your creativity changes you from something bobbing in that sea to a more fully functioning, more conscious, more cooperative part of that ecosystem.” p.1  Julia Cameron begins her first chapter of “the Artist’s Way”, she is suggesting as an artist that we begin to see our creative connections as a spiritual/electrical/energetic flow. Tapping into that source will allow our minds sets of doubt, fear, confusion about being an artist, and allow us to be open to the synchronicity that surrounds us when we change our minds, make new choices.

“Creativity is harnessing universality and making it flow through your eyes” Peter Korestenbaum

A few weeks back in this blog I stated that I would begin using this space as my morning pages. At that time I was at the end of the 12 week program of The Artist’s Way and in that weeks work it ask the creative to reread, recommit to this path, this program. So here I am  immersed in the energy flow once again, starting from the beginning.

Not only will I do my morning pages on this blog but will attempt to do the essays, exercises, task, and weekly check in, as well as discuss my “artist’s dates” .

On the Path to...

The path is laid out before me, I open myself up to be fully present in the venture in a cooperative part of the energy system that will inform, guide, stand in my way, make me doubt, a fear the process. Yet here I lay myself open to be as authentic as I can be.

The first time through the process was informative, enlightening, much of the exercises I have done before, I have done self inventory, I have look at my past, I have wandered around in my shadows, even in some really dark places. These path takes me there again, and again, Julia states that this process is a spiral, and it will take us back though places, choices, fears, shadows, illuminations, joys, hight creative moments to inform us of new choice, new ideas, moving beyond our old self. Ms Cameron says that we are “the substance we withdraw to, not from, as we pull our overextended and misplaced creative energy back into our core.”

Pink Peony

I must tell you that the process works, That I have moved out of my own way, left the ego do its thing and then gett back in touch with the spiritual energy that is the creative energy that begun this process for me when I began taking photographs 6 years ago without any real knowledge of what I was doing, no knowledge of the camera I was using. I knew I enjoyed it and was moved the first time I down loaded photographs, watching them flip by in slide show accompanied with music. When a fellow artist said to me “these are really good, why are you messing around taking psychology courses, you should go to concentrate on this.”

I never doubted my talent, I walked with my head held high, I remember the first time I told someone I was a photographer, I had gone to the GLBT Center in Albany New York, to look in to their gallery, I knocked on the, they weren’t open yet for the day, young man answered, and I said “I am Jeff Stroud and I am a photographer and would like to see your gallery.” I heard the voice in myself say “did you just say your a photographer?”  Wow !  I never got into that gallery but it was a beginning of walking in to coffee shop, photography groups, joining the artist coop in Cambridge NY, and the path just kept opening and continues to do so. It was me that put a stopper on the flow, I had lost my mojo, or whatever when I returned to NJ, two years ago. I began to search out places to learn, to exhibit, to sell, and continue to still do that, yet my attention was not always with it, I withdrew socially from a lot of things last year, the opportunities where there but many I just could not get myself to accomplish.

So the reason for “The Artist Way”, the reason for Life Harmony work I am doing with Laurie Buchanan, At Holessence, the reason for the blog is to expand, to open, to evolve emotionally, spiritually, and creatively.

Join me on this path, share with me your journey creative or emotional, even spiritual because they are all intertwined. On this path we can encourage and support each other joys and the scaries !

Juried Art show Exhibit Opening reception

Growth Question: Where are you on your creative journey, is it where you planned to be, if not why not, if so how did you get there?

I am Love, Jeff

PS: I almost did not post this!

All work can be found on red bubble.

5 thoughts on “Creative Journey”

  1. Good morning, Jeff –

    All I can say is wow, Wow, WOW! I’m off the charts wowed, impressed, and proud of YOU! It’s cool that we get to be in on your morning pages. It will be a wonderous journey looking at life through your lens.

    Growth Question: Where are you on your creative journey, is it where you planned to be, if not why not, if so how did you get there?

    I’m about half-way between here and there. I know that sounds vague, but “creative” is a vast and expansive sea. I’m not drifting in it … I’ve set my course and I’m heading straight toward it. Between here and there I expect some rough seas. That’s okay, I’ve got a great inner-guidance system — Divine Love — and if need be, I’m a strong swimmer!

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

  2. Laurie,

    Thank you for being the first to join the journey! Most honored by your Wowness! (I am going to be like Barbara K. and make words up).

    Yes I know your path is blessed with the guidance of “Divine Love” for I am bless to be it is beam with you!!

    I am Love, Jeff

  3. “almost did not post this.” — ha ha! but you did and now you are stuck with it; a thing once done cannot be undone, such is the way of the universe. I have “The Artist’s Way” but have not made the space in my life to explore, so watching you and reading your morning pages will be very interesting. And, by the way, “Wowness” is an excellent made-up word. On my creative journey, I am not yet where I want to be as a published writer; instead, my creativity seems to be taking on a life of its own and is drawn to spiritual creativity or creative spirituality ====> sounds like a best-seller title. Onward, Jeff — you have my 101% support.

  4. Barbara,

    Yes, I did doubt my strength and commitment to this adventure that will be rather public. Yet I am now grateful that I have walked through that doorway!

    I believe your path is leading your to being that Published writer, and as for creativity having a life of its own, and so it does, and the purpose of The Artist’s Way is to make the connections, hear the voices, make the choices of advancement.
    Thank you for your support. In Wowness to you!

    I am Love, Jeff

  5. Thanks for the depiction of what is happening in your creativity. It is a wonderful sharing of where you have been, where you are, and where you want to be.

    Growth Question: Where are you on your creative journey, is it where you planned to be, if not why not, if so how did you get there?

    I find that the place where I am right now is not the place I planned on, however I love it non the less. I would like to develop my spiritual side more as i have somehow left it for my medical, healthcare, technical side….As a Quality Manager, which I never in a million years thought I would be, as I thought I would be a Medical Technologist in the lab the rest of my life! My job allows me to take that knowledge, creativity, and passion to teach others in what and how things are to be done in the medical laboratory. I am now taking baby steps with my spirtuality, in bringing it back into the forefront to become my passion as well once again.

    I too have taken the Life Harmony program and consider it to be one of the best choices I have every made for myself, in working to bring all the aspects of myself into harmony and joy.

    Thanks for sharing and I look forward to more….

    Kim
    Snoopykg2@aol.com
    http://snoopykg2.wordpress.com
    Butterflies Galore

Leave a Reply

