Exhibit Exhibit

Juried art show 2009

To my wondrous surprise I receive a phone call from the Candice at the William Way Center, I had enter two photographs in the centers annual Juried Art Show. Last year my work was rejected, when I went to pick up my work I saw that the photographs had bubbled up off the backing. So it was a relief that the art was not rejected because they did not like the work ( I think, because they don’t inform you why).  I went to the reception to photograph and to support my fellow artist in spite of my disappointment. These first two photographs are from that show.

last years exhibit

So when I check my messages this morning I had a a call once again from the Center. Candice informed me not only was my work received but I had won, Second Prize! Which is a shared exhibit sometime later in the year. As I stood there listening a second time, to get the phone number to call back, the most amazing feeling of joy over came me, I was dancing with excitement in my room! Wow! Wow! Wow!

I came downstair and told Mom,  her reply was “Good for you, any sales?” Always being practical. Than I called my BF Linda she was so thrilled and supportive, she may come up for Ocean City NJ, for the reception which is Friday May 14, 2010, 6-8 pm at the William Way Center, 1315 Spruce St Philadelphia, Pa.

I than posted the news on Facebook and the response has been wondrous, full of congratulations, and such! I am truly touch by the support and encouragement everyone has offered! I really am!

The photographs I chose are two completely different for me, one is a impromptu photo shoot last year at fellow photographer friends first friday reception at his studio Peter lien where he offered to allow me to use the studio lights, I was thrilled with the offer for I had not really work in that medium. During the evening friends and guest came to the backdrop to pose and clown around it was a lot of fun and a wondrous experience. Out of that came the Kiss, a shot of two friends, Fellow Radical Faeries, Rudy and Ken,

This Kiss

The response from this photo has been amazing and I am thrilled to have had the honor to have photographed such a moment!

The second photograph enter was taken a few weeks ago at the Eastern State Penitentiary in Philadelphia, Pa. Can also be found on my portfolio . Now title Hall of Closets. This structure is a amazing journey in cold damp, dark cells, falling down walls, peeling paint, and just an eerie feel to it.

Hall of Closets

These photographs are a departure for my usual nature shots of the evolution of our planet, the world around us. Challenging myself in new forms of art, taking risk, allowing my self to grow as an artist and a person in this pursuit allowed me to enter this two photographs in this Juried Art Show. To make a statement with art.

Growth Question: Have you challenged yourself in your life or your creativity lately?

I am Love, Jeff

14 thoughts on “Exhibit Exhibit”

  1. Jeff – CONGRATULATIONS! I am OVER THE MOON for you! And PROUD to know you, to boot! I’m going to Tweet the bageebers out of this!

    Growth Question: Have you challenged yourself in your life or your creativity lately?

    Yes, everything that I learned (and am taking forward action steps to incorporate) at the Writers’ Institute at UW-Madison in late April is bursting me at my creative seams!

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

  2. Laurie,

    You don’t know how grateful I am for your presence in my life! You have been my guide and support in the past few months!
    Thank you for being the first to come by to comment. Yes I am sure you are bursting to write and fill the world with all the creative juices now flowing from your workshop at the Writers’ Institute!

    I am Love, Jeff

  3. Jeff congratulations… and those are two fantastic shots! Wow! YES!!! letting go of some imaginary balloons in many colours – setting them free to sail across the sky so you can see them.

    Growth Question response: Some of my days are extremely challenging during this past year… some days are even hard, but they too pass into an easier day, a more joyful day. Creativity has been my salvation – a place where I can rest the petals of my fear as they drop off from the bud of my imagination.

    1. Terrill,

      Such a beautiful response! I am touched to have you among my creative/supportive circle and bow to the muses who have allowed us to connect.
      I also thank you for your honesty in sharing your answers to the Growth Question! “Creativity has been my salvation – a place where I can rest the petals of my fear as they drop off from the bud of my imagination.” is what you ended with and I think the experience we begin with each day.

      I am Love, Jeff

  4. Jeff, I love those shots–and you know am so happy that you received the second place prize!! Way to go, friend!! It is something, indeed, to celebrate. And you did gets LOTS of support on Facebook. That was cool to see.

    Growth question: Have I challenged myself in my life lately?

    Answer: Oh yes. Mostly in my meditation/spiritual work. I am diving deeper into chakra work, meditation and surrendering. This past year has been very challenging for me in many ways. In some ways it has been creatively wide open withe great sharing and movement…and in other ways it has felt very challenging. I don’t talk about a lot of my inner work on my blog–don’t talk a lot about spirituality, period, after Gaia–because it feels like a place in my life where words get in the way. Since a huge spiritual opening on my birthday last July I have been experiencing roller-coaster emotions of bliss & joy punctuated with despair and frustration. Lately it finally seems to be evening out a bit more, thank all the lucky stars. Thank YOU for asking.

    1. Kathy,

      Celebrate, live in the moment, celebrate more, another moment! One of the awareness I have had around this is, “how come second place feels like first place?” This gift is beyond belief, and well be more so as the days bring me to that moment!

      Wonderful honest response to the Growth Question! I have watch and read as you have journeyed on this path and I am grateful to have been able to witness the light to begin to shine brighter and brighter from you, and your neck of the woods.

      I am Love, Jeff

  5. [bouncing up and down and clapping loudly] what an absolutely wonderful and fantabulous story ending! (I very much appreciate your growth question, too, but right now it is all about you!) Jeff, I am very happy that your work and talent are being recognized; the sweet icing on the cake is that even I can hear your song in your words! Bask in this signal from the universe for all its worth. And keep taking pictures – I love them.

    1. Barbara,

      What a sweet and joyous response to my blog!!! Thank you so much! I am grateful for the recognition of my work, it will bring more attention to the art itself. In reality this is not about me this is about having my art seen and appreciated as art, as a creative tool to speak about life, living, spirit, etc.
      I will continue to take photographs, photography is part of my light source. It gets me going, teaches me new things, challenges my behavior as an artist and as a human being.

      I am Love, Jeff

  6. Jeff! Well done! I’m so happy for you!!! Your work is fantastic – again, with This Kiss, you captured a moment, which is difficult to get and have it look so natural. And with the Hall of Closets you captured a mood. I hope you savor every moment of recognition coming your way. I salute you!

  7. Barbara,

    Thank you so much for stopping by to read and comment! The reception was great, attended by many and most of all my Friend Linda was there for support and encouragement! It was a great night.
    Next up is a ten piece shared exhibit in July, many people I spoke with are looking forward to seeing more of my work! Good feeling but scary too!

    I am Love, Jeff

  8. You’re being reluctant again, Jeff! I came around to see what was happening and it looks like you’re still in the glow of your art reception! (Which of course is perfectly OK…)

  9. Kathy,

    Thanks for stopping by and checking! Yeah sort of that glow still lingering about. I think in the next few days blog writing will pick up. Mom has left the building, so no constant TV… to distract my attention, and blurr my brain/mind.
    If you look I have been over the Laurie’s and Barbara Krass’s blogs, some good stuff there!

    I am Love, Jeff

  10. Jeff,

    Congratulations! I love both photos and applaud you for this accomplishment. It’s really something to be proud of. Keep up the great work and look forward to hearing more good news like this in the future!!

Leave a Reply

