The Art of blogging 201

A few weeks ago I signed up to take part in Blogging 201 Branding, Traffic, and Growth. Day one began yesterday April 15, at 10 am est. I am already overwhelmed ! The more I try to understand, the more confused I get.

DSC_8058

The basics of the first assignment is setting Goal’s. I can I do that! Of course the lesson begins with a nudge, a question: Why are you doing this? 

I am doing this to gain more followers of course, to get clarity, to create a more comprehensive understanding how blogging works.

If your blog exceeded your wildest dreams, what would that look like? I would post at least three time a week, it would continue to be “personal” as well as artistic, and connective. It would not only have followers but regular commenter’s, links, resources.

Those visions into three goals:

  1. To publish at least three blogs a week. Art blog,  personal blog, and feature blog.
  2. To gain 50% more follows in 6 months, by September 15th.  Not only followers, commenters as well.
  3. To be more organised and more knowledgeable about the workings of blogging.

This is not like my regular blogs of course. I wanted to make this public so that in some ways I would be accountable for the course of this process.  Fellow bloggers/followers you are my coaches.

 

18 thoughts on “The Art of blogging 201”

  1. I think these are excellent goals, especially for the “reluctant blogger.” I used to post three times a week. Heck, when I started, I posted 5 times a week. But I just couldn’t keep up.

    You are well on your way, my friend!! I will help hold you accountable. Congrats on publishing your list!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. Kathy,

      I figured you would be the first to respond! I use to blog more too when I first started, of course it couldn’t have been much since this is my 151 blog in 4 years. Oy!

      Thank you for the support and encouragement!

      Hugs from NJ
      Jeff

      P.S. I keep “warning” my friends I am going to Ecuador!!!

  2. Very ambitious of you to become “official” with your blogging. In a sense, I have become “professional” with a business blog. Of course, I’d dabbled in blogs for some time, here at WordPress less regularly, within our social networking shared community more often.

    My goal for the business blog is only once a week; but I have been religious about it. I kept my “goal” meet-able because I know that if there are “followers”, then regularity is important. I don’t actually relish increased “activity” (more followers, more comments to reply to); but it is exciting to get “legitimate” followers and a bit disconcerting to see some of the corrupt or spammy comments that have arrived (thank goodness I set my blog to “approve” comments !!!)

    Wishing you happy success – always !!!

    1. Thank You Deb,
      Trying to get a more “professional” look and feel to the blog as well as the photography and writing.
      Yes I know wider “following” is a cause for greater spammy blog etc. That is a process I will have to look into as well.
      Thanks for visit and comments!
      Jeff

  3. Hi Jeff,
    So lovely to hear from you again . I sometimes wish I had never got involved with blogs because (like now) my stupid computer isn’t working (this is from my son’s iPad )and then I miss my regular fix like mad lol.
    I think it’s a lovely idea to learn more about the blogging thing . I would love to do one myself but I haven’t looked into the ins and outs …think I’d like to try…when I can get my computer up and running . Good luck Jeff . Love the beautiful rose bud you are genius .
    Cherry x

    1. Cherry,

      Thank you for stopping by to read and comment. Sorry about your computer problems, things will work out soon I hope. I thought it was a lovely idea too, but it is driving me mad! More on that later.
      This rose has created a lot of interest. There are more photos on my Facebook page…

      (((Hugs))) Jeff

  4. I LOVE your new theme, Jeff! And your new goals look like a healthy challenge. I am curious to see how it all works out for you in the coming months, and look forward to more frequent posts and amazing photos from your gallery, too.

  5. Hi Barbara,

    I am still working on the theme, or I was! LOL
    My goal was and is to give the blog a new life, some new energy. So far this is about as far as I have gotten. I grateful for the feedback on theme and goals.

    Kathy will be after me in another few days if I don’t get something else posted!

    ((Hugs))
    Jeff

    1. HW,

      Thank you for reaching out! I am honored that you did so. I understand where you coming from, it all makes sense. I didn’t start blogging for any reason other than to reach out to a few friends that I knew had blogs. As time went on I gave the blog some other juice/direction but it was always something that came from me, my experience, and my photography…

      I look forward to reading more, and backtracking on your blog!

      Jeff

      1. I appreciate the receptivity and follow, Jeff. Welcome to this special community of thinkers. I’d love to hear from you on any of the discussions. You wrote sincerely and clearly, and it was obvious you wanted to make your blogging meaningful. A man with a plan. =) Hope you enjoy the browse.

        HW

  6. Hi, Jeff — I, too, have been deeply into process: setting up my counseling practice (even though it is only part time but when you add that to a full-time job and my other part-time job of teaching . . . well, you get the picture). So, my blogs get written — they just don’t get published. I am currently reading and practicing The Presence Process and one phrase is crystalizing for me: the way out is through. I like to find other things to do besides publish my writing. EVERYTHING takes precedence over writing something for publication. Here is my promise to you: I will match you blog for blog and comment for comment. Tag – you’re it.

    1. Barbara

      Hey just was reading and responding to your latest blog! Well done! Hey sounds like a deal! I am already behind in my own blogging. I have a few in the think tank and a quick one that may go out today. One of the “lessons” is to buddy up with other bloggers beyond this beginning support!
      Thank you so much! I am honored.

      ((Hugs))
      Jeff

  7. Found you by way of Barbara’s recent blog post, but have also seen you over at Laurie’s blog as well. My own blogging experience seems to always teeter between wanting to be seen, and wanting to stay private, so I’m not a reliable source of information as to how to grow a blog, although I do tip my hat to you for making a plan and setting goals. In my blogging history, I’ve had a blog with no followers or commenters, and I’ve had a blog with hundreds of followers and over fifty regular commenters. Presently, the current version of my blog has fewer than ten regular commenters, which seems to be a good threshold for me. In my case, when my blog got to be more than I could comfortably handle, my choice was to shut it down and stop blogging for a while. When I resurfaced, I started fresh, bringing over only one person to my new blog (Barbara). Later, I also provided Laurie with the link, but for the most part, I’ve intentionally kept it small, and quiet. You could almost say that each new blog I’ve birthed has been a rewritten chapter in an ongoing book.

    I wish you the best in your continued quest to build your blog. It sounds like setting goals and having the ability to envision what result you would like to see is a good step towards realizing those goals.

    1. I just realized we have another blogger in common – Kathy from Ecuador. And I believe I also recognize debyemm from the old gaia blogging platform days (?), or perhaps I crossed paths with her in a writing forum (?); not sure where I might have met her, but I recognize her as well. When gaia shut down, I disappeared for a while, and then eventually resurfaced under a WordPress blog. Since joining WordPress, I think my current blog is probably the third or fourth version. I can’t remember specifically, but I think I started out as Brain Crayons, and then Tears of Whine, and maybe a few others. Even now, I maintain more than one blog, and for now, my focus is not on building readership (and gaining commenters), but rather, on searching for authenticity. Which is one of the reasons I’ve considered ending my current blog, and starting another.

      In any case, it’s funny how we tend to stay somehow connected to the same circle of people, even while expanding our readership base. There will always be a few folks that are just hard to lose sight of, and so we open the door, knowing it might lead to more folks finding their way into the room. In your case, I hope your blog continues to grow and expand in a way that helps you meet your goals. Good luck.

    2. ntexas99,

      I am grateful for your stopping by and commenting. You have had quite an adventure in blogging, I am happy to receive your view and experience.
      I have had about the same amount of regular’s for sometime. Each of them were community members of Gaia group who I either followed there and then extender here. My inconsistency of writing as caused my following intimate. I look forward to each and everyone ones visit.

  8. Hi, Jeff, it’s good to read your blog again. It’s funny how “the mind” creates goals. Yet Life itself may have different ideas. Our minds/thoughts may want to blog three times a week, but Life wants to blog when it wants to blog. I am learning this. Hope all is well, my friend!

    1. Kathy,

      What a wonderful surprise to see you here!! I know all too well from your own blogging journey the ideals and goals for writing and creating blogs. In the early days Kathy you were my guide. Than later my inspiration to continue and even to write.
      Blessings to you. I miss your blog, your words, your inspiration. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

