create from the noisy silence!

“There is no silence, for even in the silence there is a sound waiting to be heard, a creation waiting for a creator, action to be acted upon. Embrace yourself in that silence !”

Shadows in the rain!

In the dripping rain-soaked walk at the break of daylight, the silence spoke. for silence was what I sought, from the constant noise about me, the constant distractions that move me away from creativity whether my own or the creators.

As I finish up the last details of my new collection for exhibition, shared exhibition at the Galleria in Deptford NJ,   I am pleased to be invited to exhibit in the space, sharing walls with 7 other marvelous photographers. My collection is an eclectic mix of my work, of nature, or artistic objects, and darkened spaces… all which hold interest to me, and I hope express my range of work.  None of them new works for I thought I would save my self some money yet reexamine work that has been exhibited before yet not in this space, and or collective expression.

Orge?

Have I heard my own voice as of late. Yes. I have heard my own voiced raised still in rage and in confused anger, most time in my own head, sometimes to the dogs, when they are acting like disobedient children, or maybe just being themselves, and I desire to control them.  In the past week this aspect of self that has been emerging has not reared its darkness as often yet lingers there in the shadows, waiting to catch me off guard.  Which is being unprepared for things or what seems like being so. Usually arrived at from not having eaten properly and my blood sugar shifts me into the orge, ranting and raving. Not a pretty creature, but one that is part of me.

I have done what I have been taught to do, in those instances when shadow wants to come out to wreck havoc about me… stop and breath, ask myself what the heck is going on, take myself away from the situation, as in a walk with the dogs, taking photographs on the way. Call someone who will listen, get to a meeting as soon as possible, give and get some good hugs… remember this too shall pass.  Oh yeah have something healthy to eat too!

The process works, being creative allows for the energy to shift, focused the heart and mind, as one of of the basic principles states in The Artist’s Way, “When we open ourselves to exploring our creativity, we open ourselves to God: Good Orderly Direction.”

Beauty in its passing

The good orderly direction was to follow the voice that said to write this morning, that had my admiring the Light breaking through the clouds to the east, had me embracing the warmth of the morning air, grateful that it was not 30 degrees, but 60, that gave me the affection of Muffin and Riley grateful for their morning walk…

Growth Question: Have you heard your voice lately? Where did it lead you?

All Photography is for sale at my store front here

16 comments

  1. It’s good to see a Jeff-blog again. I like when we can listen deeply to our inner voice(s) and ascertain which direction to go next. To see what our psyche is longing to create/realize. To learn to find balance between the different parts of self, a balance which is not static but always moving. Your Christmas card is one of the first that I’ve done, Jeff. It will see you soon…Love, Kathy

      1. You’ve got me thinking this morning, Jeff–and that’s good. I am wondering what the Buddha would say about “voices”. Either the voices in our mind are all One–all self, or they are not us at all. “No self.” When we’re not attached to our voices, either way, I think we are able to decide with more clarity and wisdom. Don’t you think?

  2. Glad I stumbled across your blog. Thank you for sharing your photography and your insights! I think that the pod pictured above is a beechnut.

  3. “Shadows in the rain!” is just beautiful! I often hear my voice in the silence of the rain… Lately it led me to change to a vegan diet and to feel better physically and spiritually.

    You sound busy and keenly aware of what is going on inside of you and while connecting on a deep level to the world around you, finding the balance… Wishing you much success with your upcoming exhibit!

  4. Barbara,

    “Shadows in the rain” is one of my favs at the moment too! Thank you! I am not as busy as I could be but as busy as I allow myself to be.
    I have a feeling about this exhibit, that it is an evolution of my work!

  5. I have learned recently about myself that I get angry when others do not meet my expectations. Your shadow reminds me of me. There is always this shadow me lurking about ready to pounce on anything which is not as I think it should be.

    As always, your blogs stir something inside me and now I am thinking my next blog will be about the presence of shadowy expectatons.

    Thanks for the link to your photos, too. I am going to treat myself this Christmas with a couple of them!

    1. Barbara,

      getting out of our own way is a lesson in practice. allowing ourselves to be who we are even when we don’t Like that person or behavior allows us to see where we are, and where we may chose to go…
      I am grateful you response.
      Please do “shop” in my store front!

  6. I have heard my own voice during those last few dreamy moments before I drift to sleep, or in those awakening moments when I a blessed enough to see the sun rise, when I am working on a project, driving to a destination, or thoughts fire off inside my head in response to a moving photograph…such as might just be found on this wonderful blog…

    For me, it is those moments where my mind is silent that I seek and desire…when I taste something delicious and feel sensations rather than think thoughts, when I take a deep breath and remember that I am free…then let go and truly give in to freedom, when I am immersed in a passionate moment with my lover and couldn’t find my thoughts or voice, other than a deep, primal growl of pleasure…those are the moments I seek…

    Thank you fro illuminating my thoughts, feelings and expression of voice and silence…dark and light…passive and active…free…you are truly free…so you see yourself so you become…everything begins with your voice…action and energy follow your voice…FREE! Say it with me, allow your voice to feel it…FREE! I AM FREE!

    From my heart to yours, Joy

Leave a Reply

