Create to remind yourself…

You may not be a Picasso or Mozart but you don’t have to be. Just create to create. Create to remind yourself you’re still alive. Make stuff to inspire others to make something too. Create to learn a bit more about yourself.” ~Frederick Terral

blooming buds

I am writing to write, I am creating to create. Creating this blog to inform, to enlighten, to challenge the person and artist that I am and that I am becoming. To many days go by, almost silently, without much thought of creating or conversation. Blogging allows some of the steam to evaporate in the field…

This my venture of getting out of the house to be productive, or at least to experience something other than the sameness of everyday. Setting in Barnes & Noble, with the chatter of people taking in the Starbuck’s cafe, I had made tentative plans to meet a friend, yet she maybe caught up with her life today, which is fine. I need to shift my own energy, plus twice in as many days I have come across the phrase, “do something good for yourself”. Well meeting friends, hanging out, writing, maybe taking some photographs or viewing some photographic magazines, or art books is all part of that process.

Down close

News on the exhibit: Because of my hesitation behavior the 13 piece exhibit will be June/July. Which will run along with the exhibit at Balance, which is only a 3 blocks away from Bonte’s! So it will be great to have all that work in the same area going on at the same time. My hesitation allows me more time to gather the finances to put this collection together properly, to choose the correct pieces, and feel more connected to what I am doing and being with this exhibit.

looking out or in ?

My hesitation was all part of my growth, part of the process of recovery, of sense of identity, and self-worth as a person and an artist. In chapter two of The Artist’s Way  Julia Cameron suggest or states this: “One of  the things most worth noting in a creative recovery is our reluctance to take seriously the possibility that the universe just might be cooperating with our new and expanded plans. We’ve gotten brave enough to try recovery, but we don’t want the universe to really pay attention.” Here is the deeper thought which struck me, “we feel too much like frauds to handle some success.”

I said yes to this exhibit of 13 pieces finally after much thought and realizing also I did not have any work out on exhibit at time. So I finally what for it, after having been ask to do this solo show since I joined the Philadelphia Photographic Society. Having work in what ever space in Philadelphia is great exposure, some I thought ready for, until it actually was to happen.

Shadows and light

I realized too that my lack of blogging, doing morning pages in the past few days was the fact that I was embarrassed or ashamed that I did not get to exhibit now, and I had told friends, I wrote blogs about it, and now I had to fix it. I had to admit my fault or character defect. Yet the universe allowed me another opportunity and opportunity that seems more beneficial than if the exhibit had gone up today.

All of this is about focus, about conscious choice, taking care of self and the artist, learning what is correct opportunities, because more and more I keep placing myself out there, I keep asking the universe to show me the path, and along that path I need to nurture my child, my artist. Along that path I need to learn to ask for help, support and encouragement.

“Create to learn something about yourself” The quote that begins this blog suggest. So I have, and I do, it is not just about the photography, it is also about creating a fully conscious authentic being as well!

Growth Question: Who do you create for?

20 comments

  1. Jeff – “Looking out or in” is a magical piece, YOWZA!

    I love your statement, “…it is also about creating a fully conscious authentic being as well!”

    Growth Question: Who do you create for?

    I’m not certain that I create for anyone in particular, myself included. Rather, I am created through (just a vessel).

    That said…

    When I write for publication (i.e., health and wellness articles, my manuscript), I do have a specific target audience. In my case it’s Baby Boomer Women (and anyone else who can benefit from it)…

  2. Laurie,

    Thank you! I took “Looking out or in” sometime ago, it is a little pond in a suburban area, with a nature walk and historic house, Croft Farm.

    This whole process is to discover who I really am.

    Yes I understand your writing for a target audience… and those who may be drawn to what you write.

    I am Love, Jeff

  3. I am struck by your undressed honesty, Jeff. Without recrimination against yourself, you simply tell it like it is and move on. I create most of the time to reflect or commemorate some specific event (either internal or external) . . . kind of like a mile-marker. Something significant has passed and I am no longer who I was an instant before that something.

    1. “Undressed honesty” now there is a phrase ! If I truly get out of my way, and write “morning pages” then “undressed honesty” will be present. I am not sure that I gain a lot of blog readers this way but this is my voice, this is what I have to say about my process and the experience I am giving myself.

      I am Love, Jeff

  4. Jeff, I’m sure you’re exhibit is right around the corner. The breath of beauty is these photos is astounding. I guess creativity is an outgrowth of the hankering to do some profound and influential. Like Laurie I am not sure if there’s a person (including myself) I am looking to satisfy, though inherently of course it’s self-satisfying.

    1. Sam,

      I am always grateful for your stopping by and leaving a comment! Thank you thank you.

      Your sentence is very rewarding: “The breath of beauty is these photos is astounding.”
      From a man who views movies for a living your observation means a lot!

      Thank you for the link on your blog too!

  5. I love “looking out or in ?” too, Jeff. I wrote out a comment here for you a couple of days ago and when I clicked on “Post Comment” it didn’t post and my comment also disappeared. Grrr…… So I’m back again hoping for a better outcome this time! This line you quoted rings true for me sometimes: “Our reluctance to take seriously the possibility that the universe just might be cooperating with our new and expanded plans.”

    1. Barbara,

      I was wondering what had happened? I saw your “like” and looked for a comment and there was none, hmmm? So I figured you would return!

      What is it about “looking out or in” that resonates for you? (asking laurie too)

      It is to be awake and conscious of those moments when the universe is informing us the new space is there before it moves on or we just walk away from that opportunity.

      I am Love, Jeff

      1. Sorry to take so long getting back here, Jeff. The “looking out or in?” picture made me think of the pastoral scenes found in the patterns of toile fabric, only those are generally black and white and yours is as if one of those scenes came into color!

  6. Create to remind ourselves that we’re alive!! How wonderful, Jeff… Why do I create? I can’t seem to stop…it’s either a passion or an addiction. I’m thinking there are elements of both, intertwined. The desire to craft with words, to set a mood, to share. It is so good to see what’s happening in your life.

    1. Katy,

      Thank you for commenting! I am so behind in this passion…
      Yes there is the border of passion and addiction… is there such a thing as a good addiction?

  7. “I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” ~ Bob Dylan…beautiful photos! Thank you for taking a risk by putting yourself out there! Definitely ‘Looking In’ from my perspective:) Joy…

  8. Good and pertinent Julia Cameron quote – and your follow-up on it.
    Best of luck with the exhibition.

  9. Response to who do you create for. I have to say honestly and mind you I am not a Christian or a religious person by any means any how and any way, I create for God. Everything I make I make thinking of God. But at the same time when I write I think only of myself. This brings me to wondering if maybe I should write for God too.

    This question has put me in an interesting mind frame. I have to really ponder it. I can see my summer plans forming out of the miasma of ….budget cuts no work….

    1. Meg,

      I am grateful for your visit and response! I am glad that I could or my blogging could stir your thinking.
      Writing from the space of Divine is a beautiful space, if you create from that space I believe you will find a much more interesting abundance.

  10. The universe is lucky to have found you, an artist in everyway .You can blog, you can definitely create, your phototographs captures the essence of things. It’s good that you’re discovering more about yourself when you write, it thus the same to me. I never knew that I could blog but I guess it’s already present in all of us, we just need to give it a chance to shine and eventually be a source of inspiration. great post.

Leave a Reply

